Audio Distortion with Directv programming - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 78 Old 07-03-2013, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
It was suggested to me today to try using an optical cable for the audio to see if it cures the popping so I hooked it up that way. HDMI for picture and optical for audio. I'll report back.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 78 Old 07-03-2013, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post

It was suggested to me today to try using an optical cable for the audio to see if it cures the popping so I hooked it up that way. HDMI for picture and optical for audio. I'll report back.

I've tried that already and it didn't improve the problem. I haven't been noticing the distortion much here of late on DIRECTV.

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, Sony BDP-S6200, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is online now  
post #63 of 78 Old 07-03-2013, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Well damn. I have a friend with direct tv , HDMI , and she hasn't noticed any popping.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #64 of 78 Old 07-04-2013, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post

Well damn. I have a friend with direct tv , HDMI , and she hasn't noticed any popping.

I'm guessing you are running the connection thru an AVR and if so what brand and model?

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, Sony BDP-S6200, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is online now  
post #65 of 78 Old 07-04-2013, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post

I'm guessing you are running the connection thru an AVR and if so what brand and model?
I'm running an Anthem D2v 3d. I'll have to find out what hers is. So far the optical cable trick seems to be working in my set up. Watching TDKR and the audio sounds great. Waiting for an action heavy scene.

Edit: She has an Onkyo tx-sr706

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #66 of 78 Old 07-04-2013, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Ok. In my system at least, I don't notice the popping with optical for audio so far.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #67 of 78 Old 07-04-2013, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I noticed really bad distortion on The Day after Tomorrow. The distortion issue for me seems to be getting much better. Have you tried using a different HDMI cable?

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, Sony BDP-S6200, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is online now  
post #68 of 78 Old 07-04-2013, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
No, I haven't. I'm wondering if maybe using the exac same model HDMI cable on everything would help.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #69 of 78 Old 07-08-2013, 01:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Tarheel1400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey guys I wanted to chime in.

I told Directv I would have another case open mid next month if the audio issue hasn't been corrected. As of tonight the issue still exists. I will continue to check in and keep you guys updated once I follow up again with Directv. I have a lengthy case management history with them on this issue and it will accelerate itself once I initiate the call. I told them 3 months and that's what I'm going to give them.
Tarheel1400 is offline  
post #70 of 78 Old 07-08-2013, 05:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarheel1400 View Post

Hey guys I wanted to chime in.

I told Directv I would have another case open mid next month if the audio issue hasn't been corrected. As of tonight the issue still exists. I will continue to check in and keep you guys updated once I follow up again with Directv. I have a lengthy case management history with them on this issue and it will accelerate itself once I initiate the call. I told them 3 months and that's what I'm going to give them.

You're threatening them with opening another case?
joed32 is offline  
post #71 of 78 Old 07-11-2013, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Just an update: I decided to order an Ethernet ready high speed HDMI cable to the exact same specs as the one going out from my Anthem D2 to the TV for the Directv Genie to the Anthem and I have no more popping. Who knows, maybe Directv just fixed it at the same time , lol. Previously I had an older HDMI cable going from the Genie to the Anthem.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #72 of 78 Old 07-11-2013, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post

Just an update: I decided to order an Ethernet ready high speed HDMI cable to the exact same specs as the one going out from my Anthem D2 to the TV for the Directv Genie to the Anthem and I have no more popping. Who knows, maybe Directv just fixed it at the same time , lol. Previously I had an older HDMI cable going from the Genie to the Anthem.

FYI, there are only two basic types of HDMI cables, Standard and High Speed. As long as they are certified for the length you buy, they will meet and exceed all current HDMI specs. 25' is the maximum certifiable length unless you go with Redmere (which are awesome cables). Most of us just use Certified High Speed and be done with it. Monoprice, MediaBridge, or Blue Jeans for example make very good cables for a very reasonable price. As far as ethernet goes, that's a spec that the cables have been tested for but there aren't any consumer devices that can use it so it's sort of a "future spec" that will probably never be implemented. The ethernet does absolutely nothing as far as cable performance goes.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #73 of 78 Old 07-11-2013, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I'm sure that's true but I'm just reporting that changing the HDMI seems to have fixed it. Thanks

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #74 of 78 Old 07-11-2013, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 239
^^^^^ it's always possible to get a bad cable with a loose connection so just replacing the cable sounds like it did the trick. Just stick with a High Speed cable and you'll be good to go for a long time, and steer clear of the "M" brand because they are grossly overpriced and performance is not any better.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #75 of 78 Old 07-15-2013, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Still no popping with the new HDMI cable and I've watched a crap fest of noisy movies.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #76 of 78 Old 07-16-2013, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Tarheel1400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by joed32 View Post

You're threatening them with opening another case?

Not a threat. We just agreed after months of tech support visits and emails to engineers that we would give it 3 months before I called back if the issue hadn't been fixed. If the issue isn't fixed this time next month I'm calling back in to open another tech support case. That's the only way to bring attention to the issue.

I got tired of doing the back and forth thing with two different case managers and them playing the middle man with Directv engineers. They credited my account to cover it not working correctly and I said If It wasn't corrected in another 3 months I was going to call back and want another case opened to get the engineers attention again. If It's truly not on Directv's side (which it doesn't appear to be) they still are responsible for communicating the problem to HBO/Cinemax. I volunteered to do so but as expected they wouldn't give me THAT number.
Tarheel1400 is offline  
post #77 of 78 Old 07-20-2013, 06:00 AM
Newbie
 
LiquidBreadMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wanted to chime in on this. I have the same problem but it's very intermittent. I have to admit that I haven't watched any real action stuff on DTV since I got my new equipment, but I get the distortion mainly with dialogue. So it's mostly in the center channel

While watching a movie the distortion comes an goes. By that, I mean that there will be no distortion at the beginning of the movie, but for awhile I'll get it in the middle, then it'll go away and then come back again at the end. It's so intermittent that it's tough to know whether it's limited to HBO or not, but I'll try to do some more testing today.
LiquidBreadMan is offline  
post #78 of 78 Old 08-03-2013, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I noticed some distortion today on Showtime; the first I've noticed in weeks on any channel.

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, Sony BDP-S6200, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

Tags
Directv , How To Train Your Dragon Two Disc Blu Ray 3d Dvd Combo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off