Antenna Coax to HDMI -- Do I need to buy an ATSC Tuner? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-31-2012, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gremmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hi Guys.

I have an OTA antenna mounted on my roof. It is curently hooked up to my TV (my TV has an ATSC tuner built in) and everything is working fine.

However, I have an older video processor that I would like to insert into the video chain to correct the color decoding and gamma tracking on the TV. Unfortunately, this video processor does not have a COAX input.

So, if I want to run the video signal through the video processor, I need to use an available DVI or Component video input.

I really wish there were some easy way to convert COAX to HDMI without actually decoding the video, but I don't know of any such COAX-->HDMI converter. Does such a thing exist?

If not, I am gathering that I will need to buy an ATSC tuner that has HDMI and/or Component outputs to sit as an intermediary between my RG6 COAX cable and my video processor. This seems like a waste when all I really need is conversion from one output type to another, but if that's what I need, I guess that's what I'll have to buy.


Question #2) Can I use a TIVO Premier as an ATSC tuner WITHOUT paying the membership fees?
gremmy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-31-2012, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
This seems like a waste when all I really need is conversion from one output type to another,

You're not converting 'one output type to another'. You have to select the RF carrier you want, demodulate it, decode the transport stream, convert to analog component, or HDMI, and then process it.
SAM64 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-31-2012, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gremmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

You're not converting 'one output type to another'. You have to select the RF carrier you want, demodulate it, decode the transport stream, convert to analog component, or HDMI, and then process it.

So are you saying that I do need to purchase an ATSC tuner? I am not sure if you answered my question or not.

You know it's funny, but I figured someone was going to jump on the "convert one output type to another" terminology that I used. What I really meant (but didn't feel like typing) was this: Normally when I think of the need for an ATSC tuner, I think of a situation where the TV itself does not already have one built in. In my case, my television does have a tuner built in, so I don't really need a tuner, unless of course the signal needs to be decoded in order for it to be converted to HDMI, in which case I do, and this reality, while quite understandable, is something like a hemmorhod at the terminal end of my anus, and it is in fact the PRIMARY QUESTION on my mind.

You can probably understand why I didn't type all that the first time... Of course, I probably should have known I would need to, the Internet being what it is. biggrin.gif
gremmy is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 07-31-2012, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
So are you saying that I do need to purchase an ATSC tuner?

Yes, you need to buy a tuner.
SAM64 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 07-31-2012, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gremmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

Yes, you need to buy a tuner.

Thanks!
gremmy is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-31-2012, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
PHD-8VX is a very good tuner from ePVision.
tylerSC is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 07-31-2012, 02:06 PM
Member
 
milt9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: walnut creek, ca.
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if your tv has a video out and video in ,you can run the video out in to your video processor then into your tv.
milt
milt9 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-31-2012, 11:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by gremmy View Post

Normally when I think of the need for an ATSC tuner, I think of a situation where the TV itself does not already have one built in. In my case, my television does have a tuner built in,

The problem is getting the tuned and decoded signal for whatever channel you want to process, out of the TV via HDMI (digital) or component video (analog), so you can feed it into your video processor. I've never seen or heard of a TV with HDMI or component (red/green/blue jacks) output. There have been a few TVs with composite video outputs (yellow jack), but those are only SD (480i).
jtbell is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-01-2012, 04:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
is something like a hemmorhod at the terminal end of my anus,

Lack of a TV tuner, and the inability to understand simple technology, is obviously the least of your problems.
SAM64 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-01-2012, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gremmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

Lack of a TV tuner, and the inability to understand simple technology, is obviously the least of your problems.

I have no problem understanding simple -- or even complicated -- technology. But it all starts with asking questions. The conversion from coaxial to HDMI is not something I have ever thought about before, so I came here to ask questions. Thankfully most everyone in this thread has been kind regarding my ignorance of the topic.

In my original post, I specifically mention the SOLUTION to my own problem. I came here to consult those more knowledgeable than I, so I could be certain before I spent the money.

All in all, this thread has been successful from my perspective. I learned what I needed to know.
gremmy is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-01-2012, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gremmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtbell View Post

The problem is getting the tuned and decoded signal for whatever channel you want to process, out of the TV via HDMI (digital) or component video (analog), so you can feed it into your video processor. I've never seen or heard of a TV with HDMI or component (red/green/blue jacks) output. There have been a few TVs with composite video outputs (yellow jack), but those are only SD (480i).

Yes, it looks like I will be buying a stand alone ATSC tuner. Hopefully something relatively inexpensive with decent sensitivity and the ability to remove unwanted channels.
gremmy is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 08-01-2012, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
I have no problem understanding simple -- or even complicated -- technology.

really? because when I explained it to you, all I got was a wise assed remark from you.
SAM64 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 08-01-2012, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gremmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

really?

Yep, really.

I apologize for the wise ass remark. I probably interpreted the tone of your initial post incorrectly. My fault.
gremmy is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 08-01-2012, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gremmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

PHD-8VX is a very good tuner from ePVision.

Thank you! I just finished buying one direct from the epVision Website.

I tried buying the cheaper 205LE, but that appears to no longer be available, so I opted for the 8VX.

I considered the VRX, but that one seems to be quite buggy and I don't especially need the DVR functionality. Of course, the DVR would have been a nice perk for 40 extra bucks, but not worth the hassle of the "40 extra BUGS." biggrin.gif
So, 8VX it is!

Thanks again.
gremmy is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off