Motorola RNG150N (Comcast) to Samsung S27A850D Monitor - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-08-2012, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Montagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung S27A850D monitor that has a DVI-D (HDCP) input. The RNG150N cable box has an HDMI output. I have them connected together using an HDMI to DVI adapter. The setup menu in the cable box has a setting for HDMI/DVI that is to be used when using an HDMI to DVI adapter (stated in the manual). When I connect the monitor I get a picture very briefly and then just colored "snow". Has anyone experienced anything similar to this? Thanks.

"Sometimes, I guess, there just aren't enough rocks."

---------
i.n.l.e.e.
Montagar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-11-2012, 02:57 PM
Member
 
triple_vee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montagar View Post

I have a Samsung S27A850D monitor that has a DVI-D (HDCP) input. The RNG150N cable box has an HDMI output. I have them connected together using an HDMI to DVI adapter. The setup menu in the cable box has a setting for HDMI/DVI that is to be used when using an HDMI to DVI adapter (stated in the manual). When I connect the monitor I get a picture very briefly and then just colored "snow". Has anyone experienced anything similar to this? Thanks.
If the cable box, using the HDCP protocol that is part of HDMI, cannot detect that the display is indeed a display, then the box can decide not to output over that HDMI port. I had this problem when running a comcast box into my AV receiver. I don't know if an HDMI to DVI adapter would prevent the HDCP handshaking between the cable box and your monitor. Try plugging into a monitor that has an HDMI input to test it out.
triple_vee is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-11-2012, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Montagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. I have tested the HDMI to DVI adapter with a different monitor that only has DVI and it worked, so I'm thinking it might be something specific to the Samsung monitor settings. I did a search and have found reviews and tests that suggest that it should work. It does the exact same thing when hooked up to a Blu-ray player.

"Sometimes, I guess, there just aren't enough rocks."

---------
i.n.l.e.e.
Montagar is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-11-2012, 05:33 PM
Member
 
triple_vee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ah, perhaps your Samsung doesn't respond properly to HDCP. Blu-ray players are notorious for insisting that they only be connected to a display device. They determine this via HDCP.
triple_vee is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-07-2012, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Montagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to finish this off... finally was able to get a definitive answer from Samsung that this monitor will not work with HDMI->DVI

"Sometimes, I guess, there just aren't enough rocks."

---------
i.n.l.e.e.
Montagar is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Tags
Motorola , Samsung , Displays , Blu Ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off