Directv and ethernet - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-15-2012, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
fatfretter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
Ive got new stuff coming this week. Samsung 8000 64"plasma (last years model) HSU subwoofer, panasonic 500 3d bluray, Marantz SR6006. SHould not have spent the money but I couldnt help it,its not my fault.

Question.......the house has two coax outlets and a telephone line coming out of the wall which I think, is ethernet?. Do I go ethernet cord ( and of course, coax)..but do I go Ethernet..... out of the wall > surger protector > DirectTV HD DVR> then ethernet from DTV Box to the Marantz AVR? ( There are two Ethernet outlets and phone outlet on the back of the Directv box)



Another situation is I have a computer in another room with a Router that sends wifi, so I guess that will send to a internet signal for netflix etc... to my tv or bluray......I would prefer a wired connection .....so that has to do with the first situation I described above, I think?


There is an ethernet input on the back of the marantz avr, the Bluray3D and probably the TV .


Help anyone ..Thanks!
fatfretter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-15-2012, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Boy, what you need is nerdy cousin Brad to come over.

Are u sure they are ethernet and not regular phone lines? RJ11 (2-4 pins jacks) = plain old phone jack. RJ45 (8 pins jacks) = ethernet. Do you even know where the jacks go?

Another option: Pay the cable guys/Geek squad to do the hookups for u.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-15-2012, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
fatfretter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have some cousins but they arent very nerdy. Have been thinking about Geek squad.....Should probably do that.
Yes it is only phone line(4pins)........Thanks for your reply!
fatfretter is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-15-2012, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
fatfretter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, The few things I think I might understand are........

1) Coax to surge protector>to directv dvr.> thats it for the coax
2) HDMI from directv dvr >to Marantz AVR
3) HDMI from Marantz AVR to TV
4 HDMI from Bluray 3D PLayer to Marantz AVR

All my HDMI cables are 1.4 have ethernet.

The speakers are simple.

The remotes will be a challenge.

I think I can get wifi from my router in my office next to the computer, that my TV and/or Bluray will pickup.

I still dont understand if there will be a need or necessary to use actuall ehernt cables from the blu ray to tv to AVR.
fatfretter is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-15-2012, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatfretter View Post

Actually, The few things I think I might understand are........

All my HDMI cables are 1.4 have ethernet.

I still dont understand if there will be a need or necessary to use actuall ehernt cables from the blu ray to tv to AVR.

There is no such thing as an HDMI 1.4 cable. The 1.4 designates the hardware spec, not the cable. What you want is a Certified High Speed HDMI cable. Period. You can get excellent cables from Monoprice, MediaBridge, etc without having to pay the unreasonably high price from the other "M" brand. A reputable dealer will have the certificate available for the length of cable you buy. The cables are certified for current and future specs. Ethernet is one of those future specs that is not available yet on most consumer devices so I wouldn't even think about that. The only reason to wire enet to your BD player would be for the smart apps if you don't want to use WiFi. Probably the same for the AVR. Just run everything via HDMI thru your AVR and then HDMI out to your tv. Keep your tv speakers off if you plan on using the AVR for all of your audio. Otherwise you'll get echoing and lip sync issues.
fatfretter likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

Tags
Directv , Marantz , Blu Ray Players , Receivers Amplifiers , Samsung Pn64d8000 64 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Plasma Tv 2011 Model , Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off