Upconverting to 1080i; set sources to output progressive or interlaced? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-16-2012, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
prdaley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Title says it all. Without actually doing a demonstrable test what do people think? I'm coming at this from the angle of having my Wii hooked up to my Sony STRDH720 AVR that upconverts to 1080i. In theory it seems to me that if the end result is a 1080 interlaced signal then it would be better to leave the source (Wii) interlaced. Thoughts?

On Wisconsin!
prdaley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-16-2012, 10:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What is the resolution of your source?
If possible you want to do all scaling/conversions in the same box? ie. if your source is 720p let the AVR convert it if the TV won't accept 720p.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-16-2012, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
prdaley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, let me clarify. Which is more desirable?

Nintendo Wii 480p -> 1080i
Nintendo Wii 480i -> 1080i

On Wisconsin!
prdaley is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-16-2012, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Why don't you try it and see which you prefer? After all, it's what you like, not what someone says you should like.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-16-2012, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
prdaley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I covered that in the OP; that I hadn't done any testing yet. Looking for some technical discussion on converting between interlaced/progressive signals.

On Wisconsin!
prdaley is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-16-2012, 03:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 234
I'd pass the Wii natively as 480p and not upconvert.

Try 'em all and let us know what YOU think looks better and reasons why. wink.gif
Ratman is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-16-2012, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I think it depends on what the native format of the Wii is, and what does the best conversion.

If the native format of the Wii is 480p60, converting to interlaced might not be best. The TV can accept 1080p60 but the maximum the AVR can output is 1080i. It would be better if the AVR could convert and output at 1080p60.
I think the best format (if the Wii is natively 480p60 - though it apparently drops the frame rate with more controllers), is to just send the video as is and let the TV do the upscaling. It's possible that the AVR could have great upscaling (to 1080i) so you could try each format and see which you think is best, but in theory, I think probably passing it as 480p60 (if that's the native format) would probably be best.
Quote:
Looking for some technical discussion on converting between interlaced/progressive signals.
I think if the source is progressive, it's usually best to keep it progressive, at the same frame rate.
Joe Bloggs is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-22-2012, 10:04 PM
Newbie
 
parineetha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a similar problem but with my 1080p LED TV - Samsung's in connecting to a DTH in India..

I brought a Samsung 46" LED 3D HDTV - 1080p resolution from USA to India and am facing issues in connecting the same to any HD DTH providers in India.
We have tried SunDirect HD, DishTV HD and on connecting the HDMI to the setupbox, a "Mode not supported - Resolution is not supported on this TV, change resoultion and try" is displayed.
Has anybody brought a 1080p from outside India and made it work with any HD DTH in India? I'm ready to try any DTH in India that would work on this TV.

I called Samsung and they said the TV as such could support all 720p, 1080i and 1080p signals but somehow the DTH I have tried that produces 1080i is not working on my TV.

Please advise.
parineetha is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off