Quad RG-6 Recommendations? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 08-18-2012, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Scooby06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for some Quad Shield RG-6 cable for a new satellite install.I only need around 125-150 ft,but all I seem to see is 500ft+.Most of them are copper-clad and not copper.Any particular brands I should check? Places that may have the amount I need?
Scooby06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 08-18-2012, 04:03 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I use Belden 7916a, but I normally buy it in the 500ft box from broadbandutopia.com. Currently the 500ft box is around $84. They also have a 150ft pre-made cable for $40.. I guess you could cut it up to suit your needs . . .

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&sqi=2&ved=0CGMQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.belden.com%2Ftechdatas%2Fmetric%2F7916A.pdf&ei=Jx4wULPKOILk9ASKkIGIAg&usg=AFQjCNGwnoAvELfhN_Q-rQevHOzQtU6Iow

http://www.broadbandutopia.com/belcoax7916a1.html

http://www.broadbandutopia.com/150febequshr.html

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 08-18-2012, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Scooby06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post

I use Belden 7916a, but I normally buy it in the 500ft box from broadbandutopia.com. Currently the 500ft box is around $84. They also have a 150ft pre-made cable for $40.. I guess you could cut it up to suit your needs . . .
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&sqi=2&ved=0CGMQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.belden.com%2Ftechdatas%2Fmetric%2F7916A.pdf&ei=Jx4wULPKOILk9ASKkIGIAg&usg=AFQjCNGwnoAvELfhN_Q-rQevHOzQtU6Iow
http://www.broadbandutopia.com/belcoax7916a1.html
http://www.broadbandutopia.com/150febequshr.html

Just wish I had a need for 500ft.Seems like a good deal. As for the 150 ft,I could cut it up and make the lengths I need since I have all the tools and connectors to terminate them. The solid copper core is a plus also.
Scooby06 is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 08-18-2012, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Ebay is your friend. Just take the remaining footage and offer custom cuts. You may not get your entire purchase back but it may be something.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #5 of 24 Old 08-18-2012, 06:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby06 View Post

Just wish I had a need for 500ft.Seems like a good deal. As for the 150 ft,I could cut it up and make the lengths I need since I have all the tools and connectors to terminate them. The solid copper core is a plus also.
What's your application that solid copper would make a difference? Are you expecting it to carry a high current?
olyteddy is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 08-18-2012, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Scooby06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

What's your application that solid copper would make a difference? Are you expecting it to carry a high current?

I have one run that will be around 75ft and a co-worker said since the two were kind of in the same price range to go ahead and go with the solid core copper instead of the clad-steel.Was I told wrong?
Scooby06 is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 08-18-2012, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
If it's for RF then because of the skin effect either is fine. The copper clad steel is a bit more robust mechanically and a bit cheaper. That's why 99.9% of Cable TV installations use it.
olyteddy is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 08-19-2012, 03:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Solid core copper will have an advantage only if you're running DC power through the coax and then, usually only on longer runs as it has a lower DC resistance per unit length. At RF frequencies, either type is equivalent.

Similarly, there's no need for quad-shield in most antenna installations, but since you're doing a satellite install, you should stick with the QS variety.

Unless your application demands otherwise, let price and quality be your determining factors.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 08-19-2012, 08:08 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I prefer the solid copper because I find it easier to work with.. softer and more flexible.

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 08-19-2012, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post

I prefer the solid copper because I find it easier to work with.. softer and more flexible.
That is also its downfall. The center terminal of an 'F' connector is the center conductor and copper clad steel is stiffer, ensuring good penetration of the female connector.
olyteddy is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 08-19-2012, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Last time I checked, there were several eBay sellers who sold pre-cut, pre-connectorized cables, and if you wanted an exact " 'tweener" length, you can usually get those sellers to make one up and list it as a Buy-it-now.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #12 of 24 Old 08-20-2012, 05:08 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

That is also its downfall. The center terminal of an 'F' connector is the center conductor and copper clad steel is stiffer, ensuring good penetration of the female connector.

Personally, I've never had that problem. Or with cables either. wink.gif

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 08-20-2012, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

That is also its downfall. The center terminal of an 'F' connector is the center conductor and copper clad steel is stiffer, ensuring good penetration of the female connector.

Just don't let the steel scratch the copper (or other metal) of the connector and damage it.
Cable TV guys found out, long ago, that a burr on the edge of dissimilar metals will cause a diode-effect, and increase inter-modulation distortions.
They even use a special tool to smooth the edges of the center conductor in the big semi-flex cables.

For RG-6/U and similar, just use a very good "flush-cutter". I also run my finger over the end, or wipe it across my jeans or shirtsleeve, to see if there's a jagged edge.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 08-20-2012, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
They even use a special tool to smooth the edges of the center conductor in the big semi-flex cables.
I'm interested in that. I spliced for about 20 years and never used anything fancier than a pair of Klein 'Nines' (standard electrician pliers). I do however have fancy plastic scraper to remove the residual foam from the center conductor after coring the cable.

PS: FWIW, most trunk and feeder cable center is copper clad aluminum, with an aluminum tube for the sheath.
olyteddy is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 08-21-2012, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The tool I have is called a "Cable Gator", and it has the usual fiber scraper blades on the end (for removing the foam), and a thing like a pencil sharpener on the side of it, for taking off the burr.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 08-21-2012, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You can find some of those tools at http://www.techtoolsupply.com/SearchResults.asp?Cat=46

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 08-21-2012, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
You said this was for a satellite install. What satellite? If it's DirecTV their standards do call for solid copper core instead of copper clad steel last I knew.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 08-21-2012, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beerstalker View Post

You said this was for a satellite install. What satellite? If it's DirecTV their standards do call for solid copper core instead of copper clad steel last I knew.
Yeah, they do call for solid copper core. I wasn't going to replace all of my CCS cable just to make them happy, though. If you're under ~140', you'll be fine.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 08-21-2012, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,286
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Well golly....
If it's a new install, get solid core copper and you're done. If it's a retrofit, take your chances.
Ratman is online now  
post #20 of 24 Old 08-21-2012, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenglish View Post

The tool I have is called a "Cable Gator", and it has the usual fiber scraper blades on the end (for removing the foam), and a thing like a pencil sharpener on the side of it, for taking off the burr.
I'll be go-to-heck. I've spliced hundreds of miles of trunk and feeder and never seen anything like that! Never had a problem on new build but on some retro jobs I've had to cut the stinger twice at right angles making a pyramid. Nice find.
olyteddy is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 08-22-2012, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

I'll be go-to-heck. I've spliced hundreds of miles of trunk and feeder and never seen anything like that! Never had a problem on new build but on some retro jobs I've had to cut the stinger twice at right angles making a pyramid. Nice find.
We didn't use those until we upgraded from 330 to 550MHz. Prior to that, our knives sufficed. But the higher frequency system needed a little more TLC. A blade can scrape off too much copper. Not near as much of an issue with 330 as it is at 550. Let alone 750 nowadays.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 08-22-2012, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by egnlsn View Post

Let alone 750 nowadays.

750 nowadays? I think of 750 MHz as the "skipped threshold". Every system I have ever been involved with went right from 550 to 860. In fact, we broadcast MATV people make out like bandits buying 750 MHz amplifiers on eBay dirt cheap because there is a gigantic surplus of them.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #23 of 24 Old 08-22-2012, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post

750 nowadays? I think of 750 MHz as the "skipped threshold". Every system I have ever been involved with went right from 550 to 860. In fact, we broadcast MATV people make out like bandits buying 750 MHz amplifiers on eBay dirt cheap because there is a gigantic surplus of them.
Around here, there are a few spots that are 860, but most of the plant is 750. Why Comcast did that, I have no idea.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 08-22-2012, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
I'm in 750 country here too. The last cable placement in my town was QR cable (.540 feeder, .860 trunk) at 750MHz spacing and Antec 550MHz gear. The systems around us used the Antec 550 amps at 860MHz spacing. We got 'upgraded' to Antec 750MHz amps and the rest got 870MHz Motorola. We also built everything out to the ocean at 870MHz spacing. I also built Click! in Tacoma (all .715 QR cable, 870MHz Motorola).
olyteddy is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off