No Movie Picture - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 05:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gorilla33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to get my home theater setup complete and have ran into a problem. I cannot see the video being produced by my blu ray player. Let me explain my setup. First, the equipment: Panasonic BDT-210 Blu Ray, Denon 591AVR Reciever, Optoma HD 20 Projector. There is a HDMI taking my Blu Ray to a HDMI in on the reciever. Here is where it gets tricky. I am using HDMI wall plates so running my HDMI from the reciever out to the projector is a series of 5 HDMI cables. 1) Reciever to front wall plate 2) 4 inch piece as part of wall plate 3) 25ft HDMI cable 4) 4inch piece as part of wall plate 5) 5ft HDMI from rear wall plate to projector.
WHen i turn everything on i can hear the movie playing but have no video, and the projector says it has no input signal. I have verified i am on the correct input settings on both ends( projector and reciever). However, when i press the menu button on my reciever , my projector shows this image on the screen, this is a 480i image. Therefore i know some kind of signal is getting through the cables.
I have directly connected the blu ray to the projector, and recieved a very nice picture, therefore i know it is not the blu ray. I have also connected the blur ray straight to the first wall plate, which gave me no picture. This indicated to me that the problem is in one of my HDMI cables or the connections. Is this simply to many connections? Why can i see the reciever menu, but not the movie which is 1080p? Thanks for any insight!
gorilla33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
RollTide2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
You will need to start bypassing sections of HDMI to find exactly where the problem is. Its probably at one of the wall plates. you might want to invest in a HDMI tester.
Good Luck
RollTide2011 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gorilla33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why would it pass the reciever menu but not the movie?
gorilla33 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 07:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Start with bypassing the AVR (connect to wallplate) and setting the bluray player to output 480i. If that works, go to 480p, then 1080i. If any or all of those resolutions work, you may either have an improper/incompatible setting in the AVR or one or more of the HDMI cables/wallplates is not rated for "high speed" and/or too small wire gauge (AWG)
Ratman is online now  
post #5 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gorilla33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have went straight to the wall plate and had no picture but i did not attempt to change the output. I think the issue is definately in one of the plates. are these usually low quality?
gorilla33 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 08:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 285
I know that you went directly to the wallplate @ 1080p. It didn't work. That's why I suggested that you set the bluray player to output at different resolutions.
Could be the wall plates or perhaps the cables that have a problem with 1080p. Start simple and methodically work through the "problem". Don't just guess. wink.gif
Ratman is online now  
post #7 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gorilla33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would a hdmi signal booster help this scenario?
gorilla33 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 10:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Not until you determine what and where the "problem" is. rolleyes.gif
Stop guessing.

Why not list the make/type of wallplates and HDMI cables?
Ratman is online now  
post #9 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
RollTide2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
25' isnt really what i'd consider long so it's probably not a signal strength issue but this depends on the guage of wire. I'm still betting that it's a wall plate /( connection at wall plate) or the 25' HDMI cable is dammaged in the wall.
RollTide2011 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 10:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 285
If "any" or "all" of the 5 HDMI cables and wallplates are not certified for "high speed", then there's a probability that 1080p could be compromised.
A damaged cable may not be a good guess as there is a signal with 480i, so cable continuity/integrity is probably not a primary consideration IMO.
Ratman is online now  
post #11 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gorilla33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the 25 ft is Aurora, not sure about the plates
gorilla33 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 08-23-2012, 01:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Aurora??? From what I can find, it's a "super cheap" cable. You should use 22 AWG for 1080p @ 25'.
For example:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024001&p_id=3990&seq=1&format=2


Try lower resolutions as suggested and report back.
Ratman is online now  
post #13 of 16 Old 08-24-2012, 05:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gorilla33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is what i found. The 25 ft Aurora cable, although spec'd as 1080p, will not pass 1080p, not even with a signal boost inline. My projector will flash to say 1920x1080 and then go back to no signal. When it has the signal it simply says 1080p.

If i use all of my wall plate connections the best i can get is 720p with the use of a booster. If i remove one wall plate i can get 1080i with a booster and 720p without a booster. The best that the cable will carry by itself is 1080i.

From this it would appear that there is signal degredation in the wall connections, however the main issue is that the 25' AUrora cable cannot meet its specs. Do you think that a better cable would allow me to pass 1080p while still have the wall connections and no booster?
gorilla33 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 08-24-2012, 07:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Buy a 25' cable from the link provided above.

I'd also suggest you get 2 5' or < HDMI cables that are 22AWG from the same place.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024008&p_id=4957&seq=1&format=2
Ratman is online now  
post #15 of 16 Old 08-24-2012, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorilla33 View Post

however the main issue is that the 25' AUrora cable cannot meet its specs. Do you think that a better cable would allow me to pass 1080p while still have the wall connections and no booster?

Buy a Certified High Speed HDMI cable as suggested from Monoprice, MediaBridge, BlueJeans, etc. Just make sure that the cable is certified for the length that you intend to use it for. Follow Ratman's suggestions.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #16 of 16 Old 08-24-2012, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gorilla33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ordering now, thanks for the help.
gorilla33 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off