Starting to get the OTA Bug - Need ATSC Tuner Suggestions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 09-03-2012, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
kpf

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm starting to get the OTA bug, but my Pioneer Kuro KPR-600M does not have a built in ATSC Tuner.

So before I even get to the antenna part of the equation, I want to get moving on this and get a good HD ATSC Tuner and I need some suggestions. I don't think I want to spend too much over the $100 range. Does that sound reasonable?

After I get this part done, then I'll start looking into an antenna, which might be more for the experimental side of the equation. As a kid I used to do DX'ing on the Shortwave and AM Radio bands, plus I'm a Ham operator, so I like to play around and see what works best (I live on a hill in Northwest Connecticut and growing up, before cable, we used to pull in stations from N.Y.C. at night...Anyways, first things first.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-03-2012, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 235
I'd Google your search. There are still some out there but the choices are somewhat limited because there isn't as much of a demand for them now as there was a few years ago. You may have to increase your budget a bit. I'm surprised that the Kuro didn't come with an ATSC tuner. Seems like a major oversight to me. Depending on your location, you may want to think about a rooftop antenna when you get to that point.
post #3 of 9 Old 09-04-2012, 08:16 PM
Advanced Member

Liked: 21
Something like this would work good for you, and used is cheaper yet.

hxxp://www.ebay.com/itm/NFUSION-HD-FTA-RECEIVER-HIGH-DEFINITION-BRAND-NEW-ORIGINAL-/221119991677?pt=US_Satellite_TV_Receivers&hash=item337bc74f7d

The PVR function isn't the greatest with this model, but it does work, however the tuner works very well.