Run standard definition channels on LED TVs? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 35 Old 09-16-2012, 07:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

What's a "LED TV"?
That was mentioned in post #2 12 days ago. smile.gif

]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

...it, but the LCD (LEDs are just a way of lighting an LCD set) .
Ratman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 35 Old 01-24-2013, 01:03 AM
Member
 
FiveOhFour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yorkmapper View Post

Can I run channels in standard definition on an LED TV? I have a Samsung 6100 Smart TV but do not have HD. I do have basic cable. The non-HD channels display poorly. Thanks.
I think the easiest and most direct answer to your question may be as follows, and that you simply gave up with all the back and forth discussing things far past what you were asking. From what you say it sounds like you have basic cable, so all channels are SD whether digital or analog signal. This will give you terrible SD picture, for cable channels there is little you can do however for anything you are capable of getting over the air from a standard antenna, you can get varying degrees of HD quality programming depending on where you live and it often surpasses the HD version of your local channels delivered through the cable co., I think someone was heading down this road but brought up converter boxes and such which is but I think IMO at least the simplest way for you to get much better picture is to go to radio shack and buy a coax splitter, engage the salesman and let him know what your doing and he'll help you get the proper splitter and an antenna, although I would suggest getting a cheaper but highly rated antenna online, unless you are far from the city and the channels source and you need a full fledged roof mounted antenna, which are still cheap at RadioShack, and you'll be pulling in 20'ish HD channels and even more SD that look much better. Your tv definately has a built in ATSC tuner so pulling HD channels in OTA is no issue.
FiveOhFour is offline  
post #33 of 35 Old 01-24-2013, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by FiveOhFour View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by yorkmapper View Post

Can I run channels in standard definition on an LED TV? I have a Samsung 6100 Smart TV but do not have HD. I do have basic cable. The non-HD channels display poorly. Thanks.
I think the easiest and most direct answer to your question...

Enjoy reviving threads that died 4 months ago?
domino92024 is offline  
post #34 of 35 Old 01-24-2013, 01:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Enjoy being a moderator 11 hours later? smile.gif
Ratman is online now  
post #35 of 35 Old 01-24-2013, 03:14 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,666
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Hell, I don't much enjoy it 11 minutes ago. wink.gif

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

Tags
Led Hdtv , Displays , Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Un46es6100 46 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Slim Led Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off