Direct tv losing "signal on satelite in 1" only at certain times of day..... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 09-08-2012, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Crazedhick3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if I am posting this in the right forum but, I have a Direct Tv HD DVR in my living room and the one in my garage that is losing channels such as all my local HD channels, ESPN, ESPN2, FX TNT and others. But Im only losing them in the afternoons of each day. Also, I never lose signal to my bedroom box. All 3 are HD recievers. The one in the garage is only HD too. Not a dvr. Checked signals. Im at 95% on 101. and pretty high on others. I tried to realign to see if that would make a difference but nothing. No trees in the line of sight of dish. honestly, my neighbor just took down alot of trees and should be getting BETTER signal. I dont understand why its during certain time of day and I never lose anything in the bedroom. Any guidance on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Crazedhick3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 09-09-2012, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Could be a problem with the receiver or the wiring, can you switch the receivers and see if the problem stays in the garage or if it follows the receiver into the living room? If you don't want to bother with it just call Directv and let them fix it.
joed32 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 09-09-2012, 07:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NetworkTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 15,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Maybe in the afternoon, the line leading to your garage TV is getting hot and causing a bad crimp or some other cable issue to manifest itself. Or, the garage is getting humid during the day.

I'd try the advice listed above and swap boxes to see if the problem either follows the box or stays at the location. If it follows the box, it's a bad box. If it stays in the same place, it's probably bad wiring. If it goes away, it's likely conditions in the location that have not yet affected the box you moved there - i.e., the humidity in the gargage hasn't affected the bedroom box you moved out there yet.
NetworkTV is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 09-09-2012, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Crazedhick3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, a wiring issue to the garage can affect the reciever/DVR in the living room? That is actually the first place i was gonna start because the coax to the garage is buried and more likely I guess to have an issue. Just didnt understand why it would affect the living room box.
Crazedhick3 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 09-09-2012, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Crazedhick3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, another thing I didnt bring up before. I can tune to one of the affected channels while I still have a signal but as long as I dont change channels, Its fine all day. But if I change to a different channel and then try and come back, NOTHING!
Crazedhick3 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 09-09-2012, 10:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NetworkTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 15,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazedhick3 View Post

So, a wiring issue to the garage can affect the reciever/DVR in the living room? That is actually the first place i was gonna start because the coax to the garage is buried and more likely I guess to have an issue. Just didnt understand why it would affect the living room box.
Ah, it wasn't sounding like the problem was also in the living room:
Quote:
I have a Direct Tv HD DVR in my living room and the one in my garage that is losing channels such as all my local HD channels, ESPN, ESPN2, FX TNT and others..
I thought you were just noting that you had a box in the living room, but the one in the garage was losing channels. It was that use of "is" verses "are" after you mentioned the garage unit that confused me.

Is it safe to assume you have lines running directly from the dish to each box? If so, maybe the multiswitch in the dish is failing.
NetworkTV is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 09-09-2012, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Crazedhick3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry. after rereading that I can see where you could be confused. Yes, both boxes are doing the same thing. 4 cables coming off of dish going to, what I assume is a grounding block. Then two to the DVR in living room, One to garage and one to box in bedroom. Bedroom has no issues at all. And like I said, as long as I am tuned to one of the channels before it loses signal, Im good until I change the channel. Like right now, We have been tuned to FOX for the football game in the living room. All is good, but nothing in the garage. Thank goodness for Red Zone Channel.
Crazedhick3 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 09-09-2012, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazedhick3 View Post

sorry. after rereading that I can see where you could be confused. Yes, both boxes are doing the same thing. 4 cables coming off of dish going to, what I assume is a grounding block. Then two to the DVR in living room, One to garage and one to box in bedroom. Bedroom has no issues at all. And like I said, as long as I am tuned to one of the channels before it loses signal, Im good until I change the channel. Like right now, We have been tuned to FOX for the football game in the living room. All is good, but nothing in the garage. Thank goodness for Red Zone Channel.

The looks-like-a-grounding block is the 'multiswitch'. It sends the appropriate signal from the dish to the correct receiver. You need to have DirecTV come out and have it checked out.
retiredengineer is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Tags
Directv , Receivers Amplifiers , Cables Interconnects

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off