Cisco DTA170; is this more than just a "tuning adapter"?? - Page 3 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 72 Old 03-07-2014, 10:12 AM
Member
 
lexus123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

No and yes. Considering the size, they are kinda nice, but absolutely no features what so ever. You probably won't get all the HD channels that you are paying for that you would with a regular MSO provided STB depending you your MSO's system setup.

I know it won't do HD but I have a large CRT tv in my bedroom that has a regular Explorer box that gets HBO, Encore, or channels above 100 I like to watch, regular co ax cable can't get the movie channels, will these new Cisco small boxes be able to get in those HBO, Encore movie channels and channels above 100 or are they limited to channels under 70 like from some sources I read. If the new Cisco box can't get the movie channels or channels above 100 even in non HD I am not going to switch.
lexus123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 72 Old 03-07-2014, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,657
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Yes, it can do HD and probably no for those 'movie' channels. It wasn't designed to do any of that, just for the lower level tiers that have now gone encrypted and/or digital, but it will depend on your cable operator and what 'package' you have.
It won't replace a full size STB.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #63 of 72 Old 03-09-2014, 05:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 65
the DTA is capable of doing premium channels but operators choose not to offer anything above basic and perhaps extended basic. reason being they want you to have the regular boxes in your home that they can charge upwards of $10-$15 per month for and get you to spend more money by using PPV and VOD.
nyctveng is online now  
post #64 of 72 Old 03-09-2014, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,657
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Isn't that great they are just thinking about themselves?? Deregulation at work again, the rich getting richer. Big business doing just what they want and can get away with which is just about everything.

Of course there are individuals here that support all of that even though it hurts them too. rolleyes.gif

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #65 of 72 Old 03-09-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 15,160
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Or... just use an antenna and not fret over the cable stuff. No matter how much you complain "here"... it won't make the cableco's rethink/change their policies on provisioning and fees.
Best suggestion is to contact your Congressman and file a formal complaint.
Quote:
Of course there are individuals here that support all of that even though it hurts them too. rolleyes.gif
I think the majority of folks here and elsewhere don't support the continually rising subscription fees or the "forced" use of additional hardware.
Ratman is online now  
post #66 of 72 Old 03-11-2014, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Isn't that great they are just thinking about themselves?? Deregulation at work again, the rich getting richer. Big business doing just what they want and can get away with which is just about everything.

Of course there are individuals here that support all of that even though it hurts them too. rolleyes.gif

Businesses are in business to make a profit, not give away everything at cost or to your liking videobruce. A small indpendent cable company or small private cable company say a college system may choose to use DTA to decrypt every level of service and not lay out capital for expensive feature rich boxes that cost $300 a piece. Big companies like Comcast or Time Warner are using these to replace the analog services or clear QAM locals they no longer offer. I'll just state the facts while you do your usual complaining.
nyctveng is online now  
post #67 of 72 Old 03-11-2014, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I've got a couple of these DTA's. They get the most popular HD channels in my area, (but not channels like BBC, IFC, Hub, American Hero's, Destination America, etc...). They do fail. I've had to turn one in for another a few days ago. Also I know of two other friends who had theirs die, or received one that was DOA. They do work OK, if you can get them activated... This process takes over an hour in my experience. The replacement I hooked up required 2 phone calls, and the operator had to do something to get it going, and that took 5 minutes on hold.
jspENC is offline  
post #68 of 72 Old 03-11-2014, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,657
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Businesses are in business to make a profit, not give away everything at cost or to your liking videobruce.
Never stated or implied anyone should not make a profit so don't claim I did.
Quote:
I'll just state the facts while you do your usual complaining.
I didn't see anyone putting a gun to your head forcing you to read anyones posts. If you are accusing me of not stating facts, then list what is incorrect.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #69 of 72 Old 03-11-2014, 11:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mark12547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon, United States
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post

There is a Federal Mandate that requires OTA channels to be UNENCRYPTED,
which can be received as Clear QAM digital channels (no CableCARD required).
 

 

Actually, the FCC adopted an order on October 10, 2012, to relax the prohibition against encryption of local channels on cable system.

 

Summary information: http://www.fcc.gov/guides/cable-system-encryption

 

The (almost unreadable) announcement: http://www.fcc.gov/document/commission-relaxes-cable-encryption-prohibition


My very humble setup:
Man Cave:Vizio E500i-A1 "Smart TV" (50-in 1080p 120Hz LED/LCD, has Netflix app.), Sony BDP-S3100 Blu-ray player, Roku N1000 (original model), PC (Windows 7), Comcast Internet (120Mbps/12Mbps).
Bedroom:LG 32LV3400-UA TV (32-in 768p 60Hz LED/LCD), HD DVR (Motorola RNG200N), Xfinity Comcast cable (Digital Preferred Plus), DVD/VHS player.
Mark12547 is online now  
post #70 of 72 Old 12-24-2014, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
orestesdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How about this! I have an Insignia 28" LCD HDTV hooked directly to cable in the wall in my bedroom where I can watch 40+ digital and 58 analog channels from TWC. Then, I bought a new Samsung TV for my living room and hooked to top box set from TWC, no problem here. Now I decided to move my Sony KDL40XBR6 LCD HDTV to the bedroom and hook it directly to the wall cable. Well, when I did an auto search for all channels in the Sony TV, I was only able to pull just the 58 analog channel. Is this Sony's fault? I wonder. I re-hooked the old Insignia LCD HDTV back and did an auto search to see if I would lose the 40+ digital channels, but not! I got them back. Now TWC is telling me that I need an adapter to watch all the 40+ digital channels. Thus, I wonder again if this is my Sony HDTV problem. One more thing, this Sony TV was in San Francisco CA hooked directly to a wall cable (back then it was Comcast Cable), and I have not problem getting all digital and analog channels into the Sony TV set. Could it be than the digital tuner of the Sony went bad when I moved to Raleigh NC?

Finally, do I have to get a TWC digital adapter as a TWC rep told me just now to make my 5-year-old Sony work with the digital channels? Or do I have any other choices? Sorry for my rambling on this matter, and thanks.
orestesdd is offline  
post #71 of 72 Old 12-24-2014, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Off the wall question: do the other HDTV's use a CableCARD to decrypt Digital Cable Channels??? If so, Sony can NOT be equipped with one, and hence would need HD-DTA or a Cable Box.

If NOT, only other possibility that comes to mind is something broke in the Sony....which means either get it fixed....or use DTA/Cable Box.

Last edited by holl_ands; 12-26-2014 at 11:01 AM.
holl_ands is online now  
post #72 of 72 Old 12-25-2014, 02:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,657
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Now I decided to move my Sony KDL40XBR6 LCD HDTV to the bedroom and hook it directly to the wall cable.
Where wqas this Sony previous;ly and what was it connected to? Did it ever receive in the clear QAM channels? If it was only 4 years old, there is no reason it shouldn't be able to.
Are you sure you setup it up for a digital channel scan? Some sets have separate analog & digital scans.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off