Trouble getting one certain station - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-27-2012, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Countryboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just recently put up an antenna it is the RCA model #ant3036x. I was only able to get a few channels so I put the channelmaster 7777 preamp on it. Now I get all the channels I want except for channel 17.1. According to tv fool channel 17.1 is the exact same azimuth as some of the other channels I am getting yet I can't get a signal from 17.1.

I live almost 50 miles from the transmitters I am also down in a valley with a huge hill and lots of trees in the direction of the transmitters do I need to upgrade to a larger antenna?

Countryboy74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-27-2012, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,584
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 272
How high up is the antenna? If you live in a valley with trees in the LOS that could be your problem. Did you install a rotor? Maybe you just need to tweak the direction a bit.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-27-2012, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Countryboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The antenna is about 25 feet high. No rotor because the stations I want are all in the same direction. I will try tweaking the aim some more.
Countryboy74 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-27-2012, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,584
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 272
25' from ground is pretty good. I think the recommended height is 30' but that's dependent on various factors (mine is 30' from ground). I have a rotor but rarely use for the same reason as you. However, it's nice to be able to move the antenna around if it gets moved a bit in a strong wind or I just want to see what else I can get. I too am about 50 miles from the towers but I have a dead-on, unobstructed LOS to them.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-27-2012, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Countryboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you think a bigger antenna like say the winegard 8200u would help me? I just find it odd that i get the stations that according to tv fool have the same azimuth as 17.1 yet I can't even find a signal for 17.1. The azimuth is 269 for 17.1 and several of the other stations. I even get 22.1 which has an azimuth of 109.
Countryboy74 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-27-2012, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,584
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 272
The Winegard 8200u is very similar to my almost 30 year old Winegard that has been faithfully serving us for that length of time. I don't know if a bigger antenna would help or not. Maybe someone else can answer that one. Quite possibly 17.1 is a weaker station and is being overpowered by 66.1. I would see if there is a HDTV Local forum here for your location and see what others in your area have to say.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-27-2012, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Please post the link to your TVFool plot, not an illegible screenshot.

Most likely, you're experiencing a dead spot for that one particular frequency. Moving the antenna (or the trees) will likely change the reception.


..
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-27-2012, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,584
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Click on the screenshot and it gets bigger so you can read it. Moving the antenna (via rotor or by hand) has been suggested.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-28-2012, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 73
While the image gets bigger, it doesn't provide the ability to click on an individual line to see the path profile. That makes the screenshot to be of little value in analyzing the signal path.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-29-2012, 01:03 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,832
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 295
As mentioned in the sticky, ALL antenna help threads are to have a LOCATION in the title of the thread and the link to the TVFOOL report in the first post. Please REPOST following this convention and we'll see what we can do to help you. We're wasting time trying to figure out where you are.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off