1080/60p is jittery and has static lines - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 11-01-2012, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LRC253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will someone please help me out. I purchased a BDT500 a few weeks ago and the picture is very staticy/jittery. See the attached video for the problem. I'm running the bd player then 40' monoprice redmere hdmi cable directly to the HDTV which is a Samasung un60es6500. I've tried numerous things and finally figured out that I'm sending 1080/60p which is the factory preset for this blu-ray it's very staticy/jittery however if I go into the settings and downgrade the video output to 24fps the problem goes away. Do I need to send back the bd player, hdmi cable or tv?



ps.. sorry about the multiple posts on this board... there was a server error message everytime I clicked submit and said retry... after about six attemps it went through and then I noticed every single one went through...
LRC253 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 11-02-2012, 12:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRC253 View Post

Will someone please help me out. I purchased a BDT500 a few weeks ago and the picture is very staticy/jittery. See the attached video for the problem. I'm running the bd player then 40' monoprice redmere hdmi cable directly to the HDTV which is a Samasung un60es6500. I've tried numerous things and finally figured out that I'm sending 1080/60p which is the factory preset for this blu-ray it's very staticy/jittery however if I go into the settings and downgrade the video output to 24fps the problem goes away. Do I need to send back the bd player, hdmi cable or tv?
For a 24 fps Blu-ray it's probably best to output it at 24 fps anyway - so you don't get added pull-down judder with 2D content (assuming you're TV shows it properly).
Since sending 3D 24 fps would be twice the bandwidth as 2D 24 fps, you might get the problems sending 3D 1080p24 too.

I'd try a different HDMI lead if you have one. Try a shorter lead if possible (eg. a couple of meters).
Quote:
Do I need to send back the bd player, hdmi cable or tv?
I think it's probably the HDMI cable that is the problem.
Joe Bloggs is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 11-02-2012, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LRC253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the response. I just tried a 6' HDMI cable directly to the tv and it's still doing the same thing, then switched out bd players with a friends and still the same problems with the 6' cable and 40' cable. Then I tried plugging the hdmi into different inputs on the tv (3 total) and still the same problem. I will try to rent a 3d movie tonight and check on that.
LRC253 is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 11-02-2012, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LRC253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
quick update -- The contractor Samsung uses for repairs just ordered a new panel due to the jittery/static issue and there was some terrible flashlighting around the display...Anyone want to add their 2 cents on replaceing the panel? Should I let it be replaced or should I return it since I bought it only 3 weeks ago?
LRC253 is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 11-02-2012, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
Mashak87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased the ES6500 and i'm experiencing the same exact problem. Evey time I use a 1080/60p source, i get the jittery picture and static lines. Once i switch to a 1080i source, it goes away.

I'm curious to see if a new panel fixes it. If you do go that route, please let us know the outcome.
Mashak87 is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 11-02-2012, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LRC253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok will do -- they said 7 business days.
LRC253 is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 11-02-2012, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LRC253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mashak87 View Post

I recently purchased the ES6500 and i'm experiencing the same exact problem. Evey time I use a 1080/60p source, i get the jittery picture and static lines. Once i switch to a 1080i source, it goes away.
I'm curious to see if a new panel fixes it. If you do go that route, please let us know the outcome.

Hey I'll keep you updated with the screen. I have a few questions if you don't mind because I want to see if it's maybe the same production month...Where did you buy yours from and do you know the manufacture date? besides the jittery/static are you noticing really bright patches of white everywhere on your screen like a flashlighting effect? see the picture below.
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/705/20121031003906.jpg/
LRC253 is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 11-04-2012, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
Mashak87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought mine from Sears on 10/20/12. I am not sure what the mnfr date is, where is that located? I just called Sears Tech support and they said they were going to send a technician out on Wednesday... I will let you know what they say.

I really haven't noticed that lighting effect, but haven't experimented much with watching movies (use mostly for gaming and sports). I think others have complained about bright patches, that might be a limitation of the TV.
Mashak87 is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 11-04-2012, 09:40 AM
DAP
AVS Special Member
 
DAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The symptoms you describe imply a poor quality connection. 40' is rather long for HDMI.

You don't mention anything about the type of HDMI cable your 6' cable is. If it is not a high speed cable, I would expect problems. Even if your 40' cable is high speed, I would expect problems.

This is a commercial site, but they do have a lot of good information about HDMI cables.
http://www.bluejeanscable.com/articles/hdmi-cable-information.htm?hdmidept
DAP is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 11-04-2012, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAP View Post

The symptoms you describe imply a poor quality connection. 40' is rather long for HDMI.
You don't mention anything about the type of HDMI cable your 6' cable is. If it is not a high speed cable, I would expect problems. Even if your 40' cable is high speed, I would expect problems.
This is a commercial site, but they do have a lot of good information about HDMI cables.
http://www.bluejeanscable.com/articles/hdmi-cable-information.htm?hdmidept

I agree. Try a Certified High Speed HDMI cable 6' - 10' in length, and it doesn't have to be the grossly overpriced one either. ANY certified cable (certified for the length that you purchase) will quickly tell you that it's the cable or not. Monoprice, MediaBridge, BlueJeans, etc make excellent, reasonably priced cables. 40' is too long for 1080/60p. I'd try that before I have someone tear into my tv, warranty or not. Did Samsung determine that you needed a new panel over the phone (because it's under warranty) or did an actual certified technician come out and look at it diagnostically? Oh, and if you do go the panel replacement route, insist on a brand new panel and not a rebuilt if possible.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 11-05-2012, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
Mashak87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried multiple Hdmi cables (some from mono price). All have been about 4 feet. The issue is always there.

These same cables work fine when I use them for 1080p sources on all my other TVs/ monitors.
Mashak87 is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 11-05-2012, 12:18 PM
DAP
AVS Special Member
 
DAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mashak87 View Post

I've tried multiple Hdmi cables (some from mono price). All have been about 4 feet. The issue is always there.

These same cables work fine when I use them for 1080p sources on all my other TVs/ monitors.

Do you know if any of those cables are certified as High Speed cables? If not, your test is meaningless. It MUST be a high speed cable or you have learned nothing by your test.
DAP is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 11-05-2012, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 238
He never did answer the certified cable question or how the panel was determined to be be defective.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 11-06-2012, 08:55 AM
Newbie
 
Mashak87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just confirmed that all of the cables I used were "High Speed Certified". These cables work fine for every other TV I use.
Mashak87 is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 11-06-2012, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mashak87 View Post

I just confirmed that all of the cables I used were "High Speed Certified". These cables work fine for every other TV I use.

If they are certified for the length that you bought, then they should be ok if your testing conditions are identical (same source,1080/60p at 40' or 4'). If so, then it may be your BD player or a setting.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 11-06-2012, 01:03 PM
Newbie
 
Mashak87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The issue happens with my Xbox 360, tablet, and desktop when they are set at 1080/60p.
Mashak87 is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 11-07-2012, 07:04 PM
Member
 
ELMO45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Check out the ES7100 owners thread. We are all experiencing the same issue with 1080p/60p sources with horizontal lines and screen shaking. It is due to the most recent two firmwares (both 1022 and 1023 have the issue).

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAnglum View Post

Overall not happy with the update after spending many hours with it and restoring my custom video settings.
When its a very clean signal (ex Blu-ray), picture looks great. When its not a great signal (compression?), the pictures looks worse than before the update - no question about this.
1080P @ 60 still has random line noise with vertical jitters - problem went away for many hours after the reset - today, its back. I have a service call opened, but I'm not sure if I want them swapping out hardware when this appears to be a firmware issue (others seem to have the same exact issue). I know this set did not have this issue before 1022 and 1023....
Can everyone else with this set check to see if you have this problem (if you have 1022 or 1023)? Thanks.
Joe Bloggs likes this.
ELMO45 is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 11-08-2012, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
Mashak87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All, please check out this forum for a workaround: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1414638/official-samsung-unxxes7100-thread/540#post_22569861

Basically an app in the smartHub is causing this issue and needs to be disabled. The app is SyncPlus.
Mashak87 is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 11-16-2012, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LRC253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok sorry I've been away for a while. Here is my update.

Samsung sent their tech out to my home for 2 issues -- The first is the flash lighting issue that was absolutely terrible. They replaced the panel and now it is 100% better. The second issue was the flickering which is what the video showed and he ordered the main board for the TV. On the day of the install he called me and said what ELMO45 said and they are experiencing a huge problem with most all the Samsung models that had the most recent firmware update and there will be a fix out soon. In between time Monoprice sent me another 40' Redmere cable just to make sure that wasn't the problem and it does the same thing. In response to DAP the cable is specifically made for long runs and has a repeater chip built into it and I believe that is by Redmere. The 6' cables I have are all high speed by various brands and have tested them directly and they all send 1080/60p just fine however there is still flickering with just the 6' cable but not on my other TV's.
So I guess we all have to sit and wait for Samsung to fix their mistake.

Here is the link to Monoprice for the Redmere HDMI cable -- I know HDMI isn't meant for long runs however this cable solves all those issues.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10255&cs_id=1025501&p_id=9171&seq=1&format=2
LRC253 is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 11-16-2012, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LRC253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

He never did answer the certified cable question or how the panel was determined to be be defective.

Sorry I just read your post after I posted my update. The panel was defective because of the flash lighting issue not because they thought the flickering was related. They never told me that from the get go however it should be solved with the firmware update coming soon. My bd player is brand new and I've tried others as well. It is for sure is a TV issue. My Motorola HD cable box sends 1080/60p also my laptop sends the same signal and when they are hooked up there is still that damn flickering issue. Anyways, thanks everyone for the responses.
LRC253 is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 11-16-2012, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LRC253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
crazy good timing for these posts --- goto Samsung support page and the new firmware update is available for USB download and it will fix this issue.
LRC253 is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 11-16-2012, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
rwpritchett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SLC
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ELMO45 and Mashak87 have your answer. The problem is the new firmware automatically installs a Smart app called SyncPlus. You need to go into the app and uncheck the I-accept-the-terms-of-this-app checkbox and the problem will go away. Even so, I'll try the new firmware to see if it's gone on my TV.

My ASUS E35M1-I Deluxe + Antec ISK 310-150 HTPC Project: HTPC Nirvana
rwpritchett is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 11-16-2012, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LRC253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, just updated to the newest firmware update via USB and it was looking good at first however it came back 100%..... very disappointed --
LRC253 is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 11-25-2012, 08:03 PM
Newbie
 
Bryan2230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Experiencing this problem on my 32" Samsung Smart LED HDTV . It started after updating firmware. Hoping the fix of disabling SyncPlus works. I've scheduled warranty service, but i prefer not to ship my TV.
Bryan2230 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off