Audio problems with loud scenes on HBO/cable - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 83 Old 05-26-2013, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 306
I just watched the first episode and when the dragons were flying I heard a good deal of crackling.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 83 Old 05-26-2013, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I also notice crackling on the sd channels on service electric of Sparta cable tv service for the max and hbo channels. Not on the hd feed. Is it noticable during live events too? Good thing hbo broadcasts boxing in 2.0.
Kascnef82 is offline  
post #63 of 83 Old 05-26-2013, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Tarheel1400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Missed my follow up call with my directv engineer guy. He's following up with me this week.
Tarheel1400 is offline  
post #64 of 83 Old 05-26-2013, 01:11 PM
Member
 
SYKOgirl85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I listen at 52 out of 100 on my denon 1312 and def tech procinema 60 speaker system. All hooked up w/ hdmi cables. Center channel crossover at 150Hz, set small.
SYKOgirl85 is offline  
post #65 of 83 Old 05-26-2013, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I set my sony avr at 37 or 32 out of 74...normal av optical connection to vizoo 3dtv and hdmi to cable box for picture.
Kascnef82 is offline  
post #66 of 83 Old 05-28-2013, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Tarheel1400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I got pretty much told to piss off by Directv.

I followed up again with tech support and they have closed all cases related to all the leg work I did trying to isolate this issue for them. The agent I spoke with was unfamiliar with the issue and told me no one would be following up with me on it any further and he didn't have any information regarding the issue whatsoever. Now that certainly doesn't mean there is a fix involved but they seem less than interested in keeping me involved. As of yesterday the issue still exists.

I'm going to give it a month or two and if it hasn't been fixed I'm going to demand a new case be open for the issue.

I did get a 50 dollar credit out of it though.
Tarheel1400 is offline  
post #67 of 83 Old 05-28-2013, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Has the issue resolved on fios?
Kascnef82 is offline  
post #68 of 83 Old 05-28-2013, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Doubtful. Its an HBO issue, not provider issue.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #69 of 83 Old 06-11-2013, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey Strong
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I've got the EXACT same problem on Cablevision (Optimum IO) running over a Denon AVR-591. Drives me nuts. However, very glad I'm not alone in this.
s1njin is offline  
post #70 of 83 Old 06-11-2013, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Parker, TX
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'll ask again. has anyone been able to talk to HBO about this? It's clear it is a problem coming from HBO/Cinemax, since it has been reported with several providers.
texasbrit is offline  
post #71 of 83 Old 06-11-2013, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 306
I've not noticed lately on Game of Thrones.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #72 of 83 Old 06-11-2013, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post

I'll ask again. has anyone been able to talk to HBO about this? It's clear it is a problem coming from HBO/Cinemax, since it has been reported with several providers.

No it's not. Providers are trying to meet Calm Act requirements and are adjusting the Dial Norm settings. We are leaving our's alone and have no issue's and complaints, I have even recorded and played back problem shows noted here and played them back on a quality Denon receiver via a Polk 5.1 system with no issue's.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is online now  
post #73 of 83 Old 06-11-2013, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 306
I just heard it again on Riddick/Cinemax, so it aint fixed. I dont buy its the providers, its HBO/Max, period. No other network on Dish does it. It's also convenient that HBO owns Cinemax...

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #74 of 83 Old 06-12-2013, 11:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
On demand is better.
Kascnef82 is offline  
post #75 of 83 Old 06-12-2013, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

I just heard it again on Riddick/Cinemax, so it aint fixed. I dont buy its the providers, its HBO/Max, period. No other network on Dish does it. It's also convenient that HBO owns Cinemax...

FWIW, the audio issue does not happen with HBOGo. And yes, it is probably poor implementation by HBO and other pay tv providers of the CALM Act.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #76 of 83 Old 06-12-2013, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Parker, TX
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry, I just can't buy this. It is so unlikely that several different providers show the same problem, only with HBO/Cinemax and only with certain shows. I am sure they can't all be working together to make the same mistakes, only with one source provider. And even if they were, it's up to HBO to explain what is wrong.
texasbrit is offline  
post #77 of 83 Old 06-12-2013, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 306
This is just like the HBO PQ "pulse" from a couple of years ago. You'd be watching some movies or shows and they would be macroblocking as a continuous pulse (blocky, clear, blocky, clear), it wasnt easy to notice but once you did it sucked. More and more people noticed it, and less and less said "I dont see it, its your system", then poof one day it was fixed...

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #78 of 83 Old 06-12-2013, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Well that's interesting. My daughter was at our house on Sunday evening. She has HBO via her satellite provider. She wanted to watch GoT with us so she used her HBO Go feature to watch it at our house, which I don't think is against her TOS agreement with her sat provider because it's her account and she was watching it with us. Audio was crystal clear for the whole program. It must be the way HBO handles the various streams. That sucks then for people who are paying for HBO.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #79 of 83 Old 06-12-2013, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
HBO GO is fine, as is HBO on demand. I think the consensus is that it's only their "broadcast" that exhibits the problem.
gadgtfreek likes this.

JBWIII is offline  
post #80 of 83 Old 06-13-2013, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
This is what I am pulling off my Satellite Receiver: 8-Mbps H.264 Video, 384kbps for AC-3 audio and I just measured a peak on Fast Five of 470kbps, the Dial Norm setting is -14.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is online now  
post #81 of 83 Old 06-22-2013, 02:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
384kbps is not bluray audio quality but almost like a warner dvd from the early years. I wish hbo would use dts hd lol.
Kascnef82 is offline  
post #82 of 83 Old 07-01-2014, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bishamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to drag up an old thread, but I'm having the same issue with HBO in Canada. I'm with Cogeco cable via a Motorola DCT6416 III DVR and A Denon AVR-1713. Its frustrating, but at least it doesn't seem to be an issue with my receiver.
Bishamon is offline  
post #83 of 83 Old 07-01-2014, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Parker, TX
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishamon View Post
Sorry to drag up an old thread, but I'm having the same issue with HBO in Canada. I'm with Cogeco cable via a Motorola DCT6416 III DVR and A Denon AVR-1713. Its frustrating, but at least it doesn't seem to be an issue with my receiver.
No, it's almost certainly HBO. Talk to your cable/sat provider about it.
texasbrit is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off