Help needed to use tv as a notice board - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-16-2012, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jay1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys ,
I'm thinking about putting a tv in the reception area at our church to use a notice board, it hopefully will have 4 pictures on one saying welcome to , whats on and another two similar. These need somehow need to be continuously looped without manually doing it the problem is I have no idea how to do this or what hardware/ software I'll need . I'm not sure which room best to post this so here I am , any help/ advice would be great!
Thanks jay
jay1976 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-16-2012, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Easiest is to simply hook up a computer and put an LCD monitor out there as a display using HDMI or, if video only, a VGA cable. Then, just run a slideshow. This is what we do at our church in the narthex.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-16-2012, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jay1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your reply, would you use Microsoft power point ? If so is it possible to keep the power point running continuously whilst doing other work on the computer or would I need to get a computer solely for. The notice board ?
Thanks
jay1976 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-16-2012, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 62
PowerPoint works - that's what we use.

You can probably set up a dual-monitor setup and dedicate one to the notice display while you work on the other on your desktop. There's some "gotchas" regarding cable types and lengths, so it would be suggested to get a local knowledgeable computer to advise and help. You'll likely also need a different video card for the desktop computer.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-16-2012, 12:19 PM
Member
 
jimboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some TV's will display photos from a flash/thumb drive when plugged into a USB port.
Just setup a slide show.....

This of course depends if the set has that option.
jimboy is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off