Panasonic ST50 PC Connection Issue (No signal) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2012, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BoomSlang001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got this TV yesterday and I'm having issues connecting my PC to the TV through HDMI to my MSI Twin Frozr II 560ti and custom computer. I did it successfully with an older Sharp LCD just this weekend (and had it working in Mirror/Duplicate mode for a year or more with audio as well). However, I'm using an HDMI cable to a HDMI to mini-HDMI adapter which may or may not have a loose connection made worse by moving these TV's around. I ordered a new cable that's HDMI to mini-HDMI without requiring an adapter, but I want to make sure I'm not doing something wrong to start with. After trying this cable (I tried a different HDMI cable previously) I'll have to return/exchange the TV to Amazon and assume it's a bad board or something.

I've tried HDMI 1, 2, and 3 without success. I've reset settings. I've shut both PC and TV off, plugged in the cable, turned TV on and to the input, turned PC on, with no luck. The TV has been updated through the internet. My computer recognizes I have a Panasonic TV and says so in both Nvidia's Control Panel (listed as PanasonicTV0) and under Display settings on Windows 7. It allows me to choose between my Samsung monitor and the Panny. If I do duplicate, it shows on my PC but not on my TV. I've tried lower resolutions as well and 1080i only produces 30hz and doesn't work either. Extending only extends onto my monitor. When it extends it sets the TV as the primary display. Is there an issue here? Should it not be the primary display? Is there way to change that? Is it a settings or driver issue?

Basically, is it just a bad adapter or does this TV not support this or is the TV defective? I figured I'd ask the pros. Thank you!
BoomSlang001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-25-2012, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 23
There is a line on the HDMI connector that can be used for supplying 5 volts to the display. I have seen several computer HDMI cards that do not provide the 5 volts. My Panasonic TV requires that the 5 volts to be present to display the picture and so will not work with them.
John
ctdish is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off