HDTV With a Standard DVR? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 25 Old 11-26-2012, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I'm very new to the LCD 1080 HDTV world. I recently signed up with Direct TV and got the standard DVR. I had no intention of buying a new TV, till black Friday. So I bought a 40'HDTV. I understand a HD receiver would be awesome, But Im not paying the sat company 199.00 for one..lol. As of right now, I have the coax cable running from DVR to the TV. Is there anything I can do to help the picture quality?

Can I convert the coax to HDMI? Or will that even help? Running a component cables better than Coax?

I tried to talk to the Sat. company, but all they said I can do is buy their HD DVR.

Any tips or tricks? Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 11-26-2012, 09:40 AM
Thread Ender

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by num223 View Post

Hello,
I tried to talk to the Sat. company, but all they said I can do is buy their HD DVR.
Any tips or tricks? Thanks.

buy their HD DVR

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
post #3 of 25 Old 11-26-2012, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 99
If their SD STB has component then by all means use it, it will be quite a bit better than coax(channel 3 or 4). I kind of doubt it has component but even composite is better than coax, otherwise the only way to get anything like HD is to get a HD STB/DVR.
post #4 of 25 Old 11-26-2012, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter

Actually the DVR does have the COMPONENT plugs, and the TV does also. Does the quality of the cables make a difference? I'll go try those component cable.
post #5 of 25 Old 11-26-2012, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter

My tv has different setting, "TV, AV, Component, HDMI"