Will a cablecard work? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2012, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I'm helping a friend who has Mediacom cable. They have a 37" LCD in the bedroom that has been running with a "digital" converter according to Mediacom. They pay $2/mo. for this. Mediacom says that to allow HD they must upgrade to a HD receiver which is $10/mo. Is there any solution like a cable card or a cable HD receiver available on the aftermarket that will work for them?

Jack
JackB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2012, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Tivo.
sitlet is offline  
Old 12-02-2012, 11:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Tivo.... with a purchase of the hardware, subscription to the TiVO service (monthly or lifetime) and probably a Cablecard monthly rental.

IMO, spring for the $10 rental from the cableco.
Ratman is offline  
Old 12-02-2012, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 286
HTPC with CableCard tuner. $500-900 upfront, no monthly fees. Or $10 a month for the cable box.
olyteddy is offline  
Old 12-02-2012, 03:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,346
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1148 Post(s)
Liked: 873
Spread the cost out over several years and the solution is easy. Anything but the cable box. It will cost more in the long run and you will have no residual value since you don't own it.

53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3--32TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 12-03-2012, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I'm surprised there isn't an easier or cheaper solution.

Jack
JackB is offline  
Old 12-03-2012, 10:43 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,911
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post

I'm surprised there isn't an easier or cheaper solution.
Well, there used to be CableCard HDTVs, but nobody bought them, so they went away. Power board on mine fried. I miss it every day. I keep thinking they (or something like that) MIGHT be back once cable systems abandon analog altogether.

Until then, I went the HTPC route. It's still $5 a month for the CableCard from the cable company. So, yeah, in your case, just get another box or - if they already have an HD box somewhere in the house and don't plan on watching both sets at the same time, get an HDMI splitter and run a cable to the bedroom TV.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
Old 12-03-2012, 10:57 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post

Well, there used to be CableCard HDTVs, but nobody bought them, so they went away....

Two of my three HDTV's have CableCard slots. My third HDTV is a 2002 model, before CableCards existed, or else it would have a CableCard slot also!

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..

It's a shame that in the end TCU's playoff chances all came down to this . . .
WS65711 is offline  
Old 12-03-2012, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

HTPC with CableCard tuner. $500-900 upfront, no monthly fees. Or $10 a month for the cable box.

No monthly fees? The $2-$5 per month that the cable company charges for the CableCARD isn't a monthly fee?
domino92024 is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

No monthly fees? The $2-$5 per month that the cable company charges for the CableCARD isn't a monthly fee?
Actually here the first CableCard is free and I get a $2.50 per month rebate for using my own equipment.
olyteddy is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

No monthly fees? The $2-$5 per month that the cable company charges for the CableCARD isn't a monthly fee?
Actually here the first CableCard is free and I get a $2.50 per month rebate for using my own equipment.

Where is "here" ?? And, what cable company?
domino92024 is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 281
I'd bet he's on Comcast with that credit, but what's more important is that only the first card is free - extras are $7.50/mo. (Comcast's ripoff outlet fee minus $2.50 credit).
slowbiscuit is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
rcb1066's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post

Two of my three HDTV's have CableCard slots. My third HDTV is a 2002 model, before CableCards existed, or else it would have a CableCard slot also!

WS65711 what are the make/model TVs? This is the solution I am looking for in a small space where I could not put another STB, and could use a FiOS card. Any idea of a list of the old TVs that had slots for CableCARDs? Thx.
rcb1066 is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 09:29 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 102
^^

Mitsubishi LT-46246 (46" LCD, bought new in Feb 2009)

Sharp LC-26GD4U (26" LCD, bought new in Dec 2004)

To my knowledge there have been no CableCard models available since 2010.

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..

It's a shame that in the end TCU's playoff chances all came down to this . . .
WS65711 is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

Where is "here" ?? And, what cable company?
ComCast, Western Washington
olyteddy is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

Where is "here" ?? And, what cable company?
ComCast, Western Washington

But doesn't Comcast include the STB price in the total package price?
domino92024 is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

But doesn't Comcast include the STB price in the total package price?
IDK. I got Digital Basic, comes with 2 'tuning adapters' (SD RF out one way only boxes) and a SD 2 way box that has RF or Composite out. So far there's no charge for these boxes. Additionally I have a Cablecard in a 3 tuner HDHR Prime that feeds SD and HD versions of all my subscribed channels including ShowTime. I'm not paying extra for the HiDef or the CableCard. Not to mention no charge for a PVR. Plus I get $2.50 back for using my own equipment.
olyteddy is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off