Good external HDTV Signal Strength Meter - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-14-2012, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
HACLJIMR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a TCL LE39FHDF3300TA 39-Inch 1080p LED HDTV from Amazon mainly because of the price and the reviews. It seems like a good decision so far.
It has a very good picture for OTA signals.
I have a very large Radio Shack antenna on a 50 foot mast with a rotor.
The set does not have a signal strength meter on it as far as I can tell.
The local stations are all around me with an average distance from my location of about 25 miles.
Is there an external signal strength meter I can buy that is not too expensive.
My antenna is already has a pole mounted amplifier as well as a amplified splitter in the basement that goes to all the rooms in the house, so I do not really need an amplified meter.
I have seen Satellite meters advertised for less then $50.00 on Amazon that have good reviews. Are these compatible with my situation or are they really only for satellites?
The idea of re scanning for each direction does not work with this HDTV, because channels that have been found in one direction are not kept when a new scan is done.
Any recommendations most helpful.
HACLJIMR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-14-2012, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Is there an external signal strength meter I can buy that is not too expensive.

Your best bet is to find an inexpensive converter box on your local Craigslist. Those boxes were required to have a signal meter of some type if they were in the coupon program.

The sat meters are for satellite signals only.

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-14-2012, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 55
DigiAir Pro and Pro 2 have been updated to Emitor DigiAirPro (with RED case) ATSC Meter:
http://sadoun.com/Sat/Products/S/DigiairPro-ATSC-OTA-digital-signal-meter.htm
http://www.dtvgreendish.com/alignment-tools/digiair-pro-atsc-signal-meter.htm

I couldn't find an on-line User's Manual for the NEW ATSC version, so here is old Manual that should be close:
https://www.perfect-10.tv/PDFs/EquipmentManuals/DIGIAIR%20Pro%2005.pdf

BTW: Only a few CECBs have Signal LEVEL display in addition to Signal QUALITY, and only
the fol. have been CALIBRATED against a professional Meter:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/381623/the-official-avs-antenna-and-related-hardware-topic/10320#post_16166929
holl_ands is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 12-15-2012, 04:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I wouldn't trust any CE tuner (TV etc.) as far as their ability to provide a factual reading. wink.gif
.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-15-2012, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I'd second the idea of a cheap converter box. Just use it to "calibrate" your antenna rotor, and mark down the settings required for each station.
The converter box (and any other DTV device with a "signal" meter) is going to show how hard the multipath compensation is working, not necessarily the signal level.
Unless you're designing and building systems, you don't really need to see an accurate signal level, just whether the receiver is getting the best signal.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-17-2012, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Blonder Tongue FSM-11 used on eBay presently listed at $25.00 plus $15 shipping. It won't sell for much more than that.

The only weakness of using it for digital signals is that it doesn't conveniently display "flatness across the channel"

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140897243320&ssPageName=ADME:B:SS:US:1123
AntAltMike is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-17-2012, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 55
If you have an iDevice, this is what i did:

get an HDHomerun: http://amzn.com/B004HO58SO im sure you can find it cheaper somewhere else.

get the SignalGH app for $3: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/signal-gh/id289580769?mt=8

http://genhelp.com/Generally_Helpful_Software/Signal_GH.html

the app will show you signal strength and a map with compass directions of nearby stations.



After you are done, use the HDHomerun as a network tuner to a pc or your idevice.

They also have an app that will plot contour data from the FCC for $1: http://genhelp.com/Generally_Helpful_Software/TV_Towers_USA.html

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off