Connecting ROKU LT to DVI-D TV Input - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Zman10101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am searching for an adapter or cable to connect the HDMI output of a ROKU LT to a Magnavox 26MF605W TV with a DVD-D input. The image below shows the configuration of the DVD-D input on the TV. My problem is that I can not find a male DVI-D connector that matches.
In the TV User Guide the diagram of the DVI connector shows a horizontal flat pin while on the TV it is vertical. Any help with this is greatly appreciated. Thanks


.
Zman10101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Check here:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/search.asp?keyword=hdmi+to+dvi
joed32 is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 06:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Zman10101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Thanks, joed. I have checked Monoprice and every other source on the Internet I could find and do not see anything that matches the configuration of the DVI-D output on my TV. Even the user manual rear panel diagram shows a horizontal ground bar. It's like it doesn't exist...
Zman10101 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 08:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Zman. I've looked around and can't find anything. Stange indeed!
Why not try to call a Magnavox service center listed in the manual.
Ratman is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Zman10101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

Zman. I've looked around and can't find anything. Stange indeed!
Why not try to call a Magnavox service center listed in the manual.

Great idea - I'll do that. And thanks for looking!
Zman10101 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The large pin is the analog ground used when the connector has a VGA signal on it. The Roku or any HDMI source doesn't have use the analog pins so you should be OK by just cutting the large pin off and use the cable or adapter without it. Here is a link to an HDMI to DVI wiring pinout: http://pinouts.ru/VideoCables/hdmi_dvi_cable_pinout.shtml
John
ctdish is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Zman10101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctdish View Post

The large pin is the analog ground used when the connector has a VGA signal on it. The Roku or any HDMI source doesn't have use the analog pins so you should be OK by just cutting the large pin off and use the cable or adapter without it. Here is a link to an HDMI to DVI wiring pinout: http://pinouts.ru/VideoCables/hdmi_dvi_cable_pinout.shtml
John

John - thanks so much for your input! It will be a few weeks before I'll be back at the location where this TV is but I'll try your suggestion and report back.
Zman10101 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 03:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 312
How does one cut the offending parts without damaging the necessary parts?
Ratman is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 23
He is asking about the large wide pin. I think it could be grabbed with needle nose pliers and yanked out. The four pins around it are also for analog signals so if they are present and damaged there is no harm done. I have an HDMI to DVI adapter that does not have any pins near the wide pin.
John
ctdish is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-24-2013, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Zman10101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctdish View Post

He is asking about the large wide pin. I think it could be grabbed with needle nose pliers and yanked out. The four pins around it are also for analog signals so if they are present and damaged there is no harm done. I have an HDMI to DVI adapter that does not have any pins near the wide pin.
John


Correct. Although I won't be able to get to the TV in question for a few weeks, I was able to easily pull it out with a needle nose pliers and reinsert it without any apparent damage to the connector.
Zman10101 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off