ota for cumming,ga out at lake lanier. can i get reception? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 02-11-2013, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i have a condo out at the lake on the ground floor. does anyone know the area and can give sugguestions.
rviele is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 02-11-2013, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by rviele View Post

i have a condo out at the lake on the ground floor. does anyone know the area and can give sugguestions.

Post your TVFool info and someone will tell you what stations you can probably receive and suggest an antenna.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 02-11-2013, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
bwam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cumming,GA,USA
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I live in a subdivision on Lake Lanier (Mary Alice Park Road, Cumming). I get all of the Atlanta channels with an attic antenna (Channel Master 4228 + preamp) without any problem consistently at 80% signal strength. Has worked great for me for the past 7 years.

My house is 31-33 miles away from the broadcast towers so you'd probably be within that same range of distance. Did not have any success with antennas smaller than the 4228 (tried quite a few) or without a preamp.

PBS, CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX
bwam is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 02-12-2013, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
thank you for the reply. but i think my problem is where the condo is a deep drop from the main road and i believe the condo assoc has deed restrictions.
rviele is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 02-12-2013, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
bwam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cumming,GA,USA
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are you asking whether you could get the Atlanta stations from your location? Or are you asking what type of antenna would work?
bwam is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 02-12-2013, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
actually now that you ask i need the answer to both. plus i would need an installer.
rviele is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 02-13-2013, 04:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,385
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Follow the advice in post #2. Provide a TVFool report.
Ratman is online now  
post #8 of 16 Old 02-13-2013, 05:13 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i must be a fool because i don't have a clue what you're talking about. what's a tv fool besides me?
rviele is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 02-13-2013, 05:17 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,133
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 63
TVFool

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 02-13-2013, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
since i don't know how to do a tv fool report. i read it and i'm curious about the difference between 1 edge and 2 edge and what they mean.
rviele is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 02-13-2013, 06:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
since i don't know how to do a tv fool report.
Because your condo is "in a deep drop" from the main road, it is necessary for you to give an exact address when requesting a tvfool report for your location, so that we will know how serious your reception problem is. Your address will not show in the report to protect you. Go to this link:
http://www.tvfool.com

When that page comes up click on >> Click HERE <<< which is halfway down the page on the left. This should take you to this page:
http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29

On that page enter your exact address and click on Find Local Channels. When the report comes up, give us the URL that is in bold type near the top of the report which will look like this one for Cumming:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d1ddae83177c1ea

and the active link would be:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d1ddae83177c1ea

If you have difficulty indicating your exact address, it will be necessary to go to the first page and click on >> Start MAPS << which is halfway down the right side. When the map comes up you can move the location indicator to your exact location and then click on Make Radar Plot that is above the map at the right.


When the report says LOS in the Path column, it means there are no terrain obstructions in the signal path. When it says 1Edge, it means that there is one terrain obstruction in the signal path. When it says 2Edge, it means that there are two or more terrain obstructions in the signal path, which make reliable reception difficult.
Quote:
i believe the condo assoc has deed restrictions
Under certain conditions the FCC rules will override the condo restrictions and allow you to place an antenna outside if you have an area under your control like a balcony or patio.

http://www.fcc.gov/guides/over-air-reception-devices-rule

Maybe you can have an attic antenna like bwam in post #3.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 02-13-2013, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i will work on getting you the info, but i can tell you the condo is in the marina itself. i can also tell you that considering the fact that we are at lake level if the road to the main road road iced over you couldn't get out of the marina. i wouldn't be a bit surprised if there is a 100ft drop from the main road to the marina. ontop of the fact that we have trees all around. to make a bad problem even worse the condo butts up against corps of engineers property. they own the lake and the surrounding property. YEECH!
rviele is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 02-13-2013, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 
bwam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cumming,GA,USA
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you drop me a message through the AVS message board, I can help you. I have a spare antenna that we can try at your house. You're probably a 15 minute drive from me? I'm on Mary Alice Park Road just a few minutes from the entrance to Mary Alice Park on Lake Lanier.

I'm surrounded by trees and my house is 10 feet lower than Mary Alice Park Road. Our subdivision forms a valley below that road dipping towards the lake. Not an ideal situation but I still get all the channels at 80% strength.

If an antenna doesn't work, there are other inexpensive options. I hear Aereo is coming to Atlanta this spring which would allow you to get the Atlanta locals through the Internet at $7 or so a month.
bwam is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 02-14-2013, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
thanks for your help. i'll get back to you as soon as i can.
rviele is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 02-14-2013, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
what is the best way for me to get my phone to you?
rviele is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 02-14-2013, 08:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,385
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Send him a PM (Private Message)?

And to anticipate your next question.... place your cursor on his name in one of his posts and a box will pop up. Click on "Send PM"eek.gif.
Ratman is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off