HD Antenna with an older NON-HDMI TV & Web surfing with a media box, how to do this?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-16-2013, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CarguyHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Not sure which section I should post this in, so thought technical was the best choice??

Anyway, I have 6 tv in the house, with 3 people. One is HDMI, the rest are not (S-video and component and some just cable)

Trying not to throw a bunch of TV's in the garbage that work great, and spend a bunch of money.

I want to connect an HD Antenna, but need a convertor box to do that. And I would like a to be able to surf the net, you tube, net flix.

Any suggestions on how to do that??

I looked at Boxee TV, which has a great set up, but ONLY HDMI outs on it.
CarguyHere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-16-2013, 10:54 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 222
First of all, I think you mean "throw" out good televisions, not "through."

Second, there's no such beast as an "HD Antenna." Some items are marketed as such to get more money out of consumers. Standard old-school television antennas are all anyone needs.

Let me see if we have this straight: You're looking for a box for each television that will allow web surfing and over-the-air digital television reception? So, six boxes, total?

Are all of the televisions HD? What's the breakdown?

Just clarifying. Oddly, I have zero experience with WD TV, Apple TV, Boxee and the like. I went the HTPC route. I have a feeling you're going to need one OTA box and one Web box per television.

The Boxee does both, but you'd need to pick up an HDMI-to-Component converter

You might scan through http://www.avsforum.com/f/39/networking-media-servers-content-streaming.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't know if any of the media boxes have analog video outputs (composite / S-video / component), except for the Apple TV which I use, and it has only HDMI. I suspect that the image quality on an analog TV would be poor enough to make it hard to read text in menus, etc.
jtbell is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CarguyHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thaks for the input.

So let me add some more details:
One huge 62” 4:3 HDTV Projection TV that stills works fantastic all inputs BUT HDMI
2 x27” CRT both with Video in, one with S video
2x 13 CRT cable in only
1x 32” LCD with HDMI inputs
And I will upgrade (eventually) the big TV, going with a 65” and the projection will go to another room for games.
So currently I cable TV with one HD box. And I use a laptop that has S –video out so that works fine for the 3 large tv’s. BUT my wife is not tech savvy at all. And I keep reading about the Boxee, WD TV, Apple TV etc. But they only have HDMI (I thought the Boxee had component, maybe that was an older version??)
I’m trying to eliminate the $80.00 every month for cable, without replacing every TV in the house
So far I think my best (but still a pain in the ***) would be buying a couple more laptops (used one or refurbished to save a few bucks)
CarguyHere is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CarguyHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
RE: Boxee, from their website:


Can I use an HDMI conversion cable to connect the Boxee Box to my TV?

Unfortunately no. The Boxee Box does not support any HDMI conversion cables.
CarguyHere is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarguyHere View Post

RE: Boxee, from their website:


Can I use an HDMI conversion cable to connect the Boxee Box to my TV?

Unfortunately no. The Boxee Box does not support any HDMI conversion cables.
Might be some confusion on this question as posed. A "conversion cable" is not necessarily the same as a conversion device, like the suggested HDMI to Component converter.

A conversion cable would, in my mind, be something like the HDMI to DVI cables, which would, despite Boxee's statement, work. (although you'd have a real problem with sound - no analog, digital only - you'd have to break out the audio to a digital capable receiver) But that's not going to help you with your analog TVs anyway.

And, of course, there could be HDCP issues. (but there are converters that claim to be HDCP compliant)

Personally, none of my analog TVs have enough resolution to read text for web browsing use. OTA and Media playing, as well as services like Netflix are doable. (OTA tuners and some BluRay players still have composite video outputs)

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 09:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 52
You only have TWO HDTVs that NEED to be connected to Hi-Def sources. None of the other TV's will benefit from Hi-Def sources....Low Res will be just fine for them.

For the two HDTVs, I would recommend getting either:
1) TiVo HD Premier DVR Recorder (HD OTA/Cable Tuner, HD Recorder & Internet Streaming Features)
or
2) a separate HD OTA STB with either a) a Blu-Ray Player with Internet Streaming capability or b) an Internet Streaming Player Box of your choice (e.g. XBox, PS3, Wii, AppleTV, Boxee, Roku, GoogleTV, et. al).

For each of the other Low-Rez TV's, you only need an inexpensive Low-Rez CECB Coupon OTA Converter Box (new or used),such as Channel Master CM7000 and possibly an Internet Streaming Player capability (Blu-Ray Player or Streaming Box). CECB Boxes receive OTA Hi-Def signals and down-rez them to Composite Video (YELLOW/RED/WHITE) outputs for your 27-in TVs and a (selectable) Ch3/4 RF Coax output that can be connected to your 13-in TVs.

TiVo HD Premiere OTA/Cable DVR with Internet Streaming:
http://www.tivo.com/products/tivo-premiere/index.html
http://www.tivo.com/products/tivo-premiere/premiere-questions.html

HD OTA STB (e.g. Channel Master CM7001 HD OTA/Cable STB):
http://www.channelmasterstore.com/HD_Antenna_Tuner_CM_7001_p/cm-7001.htm
http://www.avsforum.com/t/179095/the-official-avs-hdtv-stb-synopsis

"Smart" HD Blu-Ray Players with Internet Streaming
Incl. Samsung, Panasonic, Sony, et. al. For example Samsung has Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Netflix, Hulu, Pandora Music, AccuWeather & many others...but is still MISSING Amazon Video app that others do have:
http://www.samsung.com/us/2012-smart-blu-ray-player/#bluray
http://www.samsung.com/us/topic/the-smart-blu-ray-experience
http://www.samsung.com/us/video/blu-ray-dvd/BD-E5700/ZA

HD Internet Streaming Player Boxes:
http://thewirecutter.com/reviews/roku-2-xs-best-streamer
http://reviews.cnet.com/best-streaming-media-boxes
http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-20025670-1/which-streaming-media-device-is-right-for-you [2-years old]
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2373736,00.asp [2-years old, but has detailed I/F info]

Low-Rez OTA CECB Coupon Boxes (e.g. Channel Master CM7000):
http://photos.imageevent.com/holl_ands/files/ota/CECB%20Feature%20List%20-%20mod%2026Mar2010.xls [3 years old]
http://www.avsforum.com/f/186/coupon-eligible-converter-box-cecb
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=node%3D979935011&field-keywords=dtv+converter+box+atsc&rh=n%3A979935011%2Ck%3Adtv+converter+box+atsc
holl_ands is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CarguyHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post

You only have TWO HDTVs that NEED to be connected to Hi-Def sources. None of the other TV's will benefit from Hi-Def sources....Low Res will be just fine for them.

For the two HDTVs, I would recommend getting either:
1) TiVo HD Premier DVR Recorder (HD OTA/Cable Tuner, HD Recorder & Internet Streaming Features)
or
2) a separate HD OTA STB with either a) a Blu-Ray Player with Internet Streaming capability or b) an Internet Streaming Player Box of your choice (e.g. XBox, PS3, Wii, AppleTV, Boxee, Roku, GoogleTV, et. al).

For each of the other Low-Rez TV's, you only need an inexpensive Low-Rez CECB Coupon OTA Converter Box (new or used),such as Channel Master CM7000 and possibly an Internet Streaming Player capability (Blu-Ray Player or Streaming Box). CECB Boxes receive OTA Hi-Def signals and down-rez them to Composite Video (YELLOW/RED/WHITE) outputs for your 27-in TVs and a (selectable) Ch3/4 RF Coax output that can be connected to your 13-in TVs.

TiVo HD Premiere OTA/Cable DVR with Internet Streaming:
http://www.tivo.com/products/tivo-premiere/index.html
http://www.tivo.com/products/tivo-premiere/premiere-questions.html

HD OTA STB (e.g. Channel Master CM7001 HD OTA/Cable STB):
http://www.channelmasterstore.com/HD_Antenna_Tuner_CM_7001_p/cm-7001.htm
http://www.avsforum.com/t/179095/the-official-avs-hdtv-stb-synopsis

"Smart" HD Blu-Ray Players with Internet Streaming
Incl. Samsung, Panasonic, Sony, et. al. For example Samsung has Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Netflix, Hulu, Pandora Music, AccuWeather & many others...but is still MISSING Amazon Video app that others do have:
http://www.samsung.com/us/2012-smart-blu-ray-player/#bluray
http://www.samsung.com/us/topic/the-smart-blu-ray-experience
http://www.samsung.com/us/video/blu-ray-dvd/BD-E5700/ZA

HD Internet Streaming Player Boxes:
http://thewirecutter.com/reviews/roku-2-xs-best-streamer
http://reviews.cnet.com/best-streaming-media-boxes
http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-20025670-1/which-streaming-media-device-is-right-for-you [2-years old]
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2373736,00.asp [2-years old, but has detailed I/F info]

Low-Rez OTA CECB Coupon Boxes (e.g. Channel Master CM7000):
http://photos.imageevent.com/holl_ands/files/ota/CECB%20Feature%20List%20-%20mod%2026Mar2010.xls [3 years old]
http://www.avsforum.com/f/186/coupon-eligible-converter-box-cecb
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=node%3D979935011&field-keywords=dtv+converter+box+atsc&rh=n%3A979935011%2Ck%3Adtv+converter+box+atsc

For the HD TV, if I want to be able to browse the net and download XBMC, what would you suggest?

I'm currently running a 5 year old laptop as my media box, and that works very well. (tried a boxee box, but not happy with how slow and how much it freezes and crashes)
CarguyHere is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 89
PHD-208 from ePVision is a very good basic HDTV tuner box. Very good tuner. But only HDMI or composite video outputs.
tylerSC is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-22-2013, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarguyHere View Post

For the HD TV, if I want to be able to browse the net and download XBMC, what would you suggest?

I'm currently running a 5 year old laptop as my media box, and that works very well. (tried a boxee box, but not happy with how slow and how much it freezes and crashes)

Media Streaming is built into my Panasonic 3DTV, so I haven't had the need to look into various media boxes (although my kidz have an assortment, incl their favorite, the PS3). None of the media boxes mentioned above (or HDTVs) have the ability to DOWNLOAD Windows apps...for that you need a real PC.

I don't know the capabilities of your 5-yo laptop, but I know that MY old laptop wouldn't output HD to HDTV via VGA port and the single AMD64 processor could barely keep up with HD programs on-screen....and had to be freshly rebooted every time I tried that...or Skype... Are you sure it's capable of HD output...or running resources intensive X-Box Media Center (XBMC)??? Either Win7 (for hardware video decode) or a Dual-Core Processor is required:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=XBMC_for_Windows_specific_FAQ#Requirements

Laptop's and PC can output to HDTV via either 1) VGA port, 2) HDMI port or 3) new fangled internal Wireless card to dongle on HDTV's USB port (e.g. PUSH2TV, et. al.). The first two can also be remoted via VGA or HDMI Wireless Extenders [Search Google].

Hope this helps a little...perhaps other users can chime in with their opinions....
holl_ands is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off