Loss is signal with hdmi wires and splitters. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-24-2013, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is what i set up. I have Apple TV upstairs that goes to a 1in 5 out Hdmi powered splitter. I have this running to my living room TV with a 6' cable. Running to my sons room 12' cable. It then goes downstairs with a 6' cable to a non powered splitter that goes to the master bedroom 50' cable and the downstairs TV. Now I also have my Xbox downstairs that runs a 50' to a non powered splitter to my upstairs TV 12' then to the master bedroom 50'. Now the problem that has been going on is that the Apple TV works on the up stairs TV and my sons room but in the master bedroom it goes to connect and the signal goes in and out. I think I might need powered splitters to amplify the signal because I didn't have this problem before the splitters. A little advise would be grateful. Ty.
jonnypro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-24-2013, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not everybody at onece!!
jonnypro is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-24-2013, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
There is no such thing as a non-powered HDMI splitter. There are splitters that take their power off the 5V line of the HDMI cable and splitters that have their own power supply. The former have a very poor track record. The 5V line was never intended to power devices like splitters. Using appropriate splitters would certainly be one step in solving your problem.
Colm is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 02-24-2013, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
a 50 foot run after two splitters is just too much. HDMI isn't meant to be split in the first place. You can try an hdmi over cat 5 extender, but again, with all of your splitters involved, it may not work.
sitlet is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-24-2013, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post

HDMI isn't meant to be split in the first place.
Nonsense, but this sure is an extreme example...
Colm is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-25-2013, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would you recommend a powered splitter. Would that help the signal.
jonnypro is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-25-2013, 02:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 260
50' for an HDMI cable is really and literally pushing it. Introduce a splitter and that adds to the signal loss.

Consider this:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10113&cs_id=1011306&p_id=8158&seq=1&format=2
Ratman is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-27-2013, 05:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Because if I only have one TV on at a time it seems to be fine, I did have to unplug the hdmi cable from the set and plug bavk in and it was fine. But when multiple TVs are on it will not work on the furthest screen from the source. It will either flicker on and off every second or not be on.
jonnypro is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-27-2013, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnypro View Post

Because if I only have one TV on at a time it seems to be fine, I did have to unplug the hdmi cable from the set and plug bavk in and it was fine. But when multiple TVs are on it will not work on the furthest screen from the source. It will either flicker on and off every second or not be on.

That's exactly why hdmi is not meant to be split. A source device is meant to connect to one display device. When a source sees multiple devices, it generally will only work with the first one connected.
sitlet is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-27-2013, 10:53 AM
Member
 
DDK65JAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If all of these "splitters" are just that, they are not amplifying the signal at all,
powered or not.They just add to the signal degredation.If thse splitters are like the
approx $40 variety at Monprice they don't amplify, perhaps a booster (which they
do sell) placed before the first splitter may help.

At least that's my take on it, DDK
DDK65JAG is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off