HDTV Inline Amplifer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2013, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MarioMania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a HDTV inline Amp 30dB 40-2400 MHz, Ultra High Gain

I hook it up to my DTV Converter Box, the Other end to the Antanna Part...Nothing

Output RCVR: Antanna in going to the DTV Box

Input LNB: UHF/VHF Antanna

6ft Cable I'm using

My reception is bad here, I'm in the Valley in Vallejo
MarioMania is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-01-2013, 07:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Boosting a bad signal just gives you an amplified bad signal.

You should try to reorient your antenna and/or get a "better" antenna.
Ratman is offline  
Old 03-01-2013, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Post your tvfool results so we can get an idea of reception in your area.
mikepier is offline  
Old 03-01-2013, 08:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 316
And... make/model of the amp you're using, make model of the antenna you're using, where the antenna is mounted/located, length of each (individual) coax runs, problematic symptoms prior to the introduction of the amp and which channels were good and bad prior to the introduction of the amp.
Ratman is offline  
Old 03-02-2013, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I hook it up to my DTV Converter Box.

From OTA antenna to an amp to a DTA box to your TV is this correct.
RCbridge is offline  
Old 03-02-2013, 09:10 AM
Member
 
DDK65JAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mario....Like others I'm a bit confused by your post.

I'm going to assume your DTV converter is a DirectTv

satellite receiver,if so you can't connect your tv antenna

to the LNB input, it would have to connected to the antenna(ANT)

input. If the DTV box is not on an active subscription it may not

passthrough the tv signal. Try going antenna directly to the tv set.


Good luck, DDK
DDK65JAG is offline  
Old 03-02-2013, 11:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Just so we're on the same page....

DTV is Digital TV (antenna and OTA tuner, whether external or internal to the TV)
D* is DirecTV (satellite dish and receiver)
Which are you referring to?

An inline amp can be different. Is it an antenna premp (at the mast), a powered booster between the antenna and tuner or a bullet type amp that is powered by a satellite receiver?

I'm not a dentist. You shouldn't have to pull teeth to get information to solve a problem.
Ratman is offline  
Old 03-02-2013, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 29
MarioMania hasn't been online in a day and a half and so he hasn't seen any of these responses, unless he has been lurking.
AntAltMike is offline  
Old 03-02-2013, 02:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Based on this and past posts/threads by the OP, this is just par for the course. rolleyes.gif
Ratman is offline  
Old 03-03-2013, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
To the OP if you are still reading these responses, we are not trying to be negative, our goal is to be helpful and educate.
So if you are we await some more facts from you, you can begin with the make and model of all components from the antenna to the TV (or just give us what you have).
RCbridge is offline  
Old 03-04-2013, 01:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MarioMania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got my answer, thanks for the help guys
MarioMania is offline  
Old 03-04-2013, 05:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 316
And.... what was the answer????
Ratman is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off