PC to LCD...60Hz VGA or 24FPS HDMI?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-03-2013, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lacquerYuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm connecting my PC to my LCD TV so I can watch videos from my computer.

Which is better, 60Hz VGA or 24FPS HDMI??? Or no difference??
lacquerYuden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-03-2013, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I use HDMI but VGA may work better than HDMI in your application. Try them both and see.
olyteddy is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-04-2013, 01:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
It depends on the source frame rate of the content you are watching.

Chances are, you may also want 23Hz and 59Hz rather than 24Hz and 60Hz in your driver settings (as the 23/59 are closer to the non-integer "real world" frame rates of 23.976Hz and 59.94Hz that are actually used in most content)

Presumably you can also use 60Hz HDMI - so I'd chose HDMI - though you need to ensure that your source and display are both in the same 'level space' as HDMI can be used with 16-235 Limited and 0-255 Full range output. (Broadcast video, Blu-ray, DVD all use 16-235 - though PCs can expand this to 0-255 in some situations)

As VGA is an analogue interconnect, there is always going to be a small quality loss in the D/A and A/D processes, and analogue signals suffer more from interference (cable quality is more important, hum and reflections can be visible etc.) particularly on long cable runs. HDMI, being digital, should mean no quality loss from the interconnect, and cheap cables are less of an issue. (If an HDMI cable works, it works)
sneals2000 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-05-2013, 01:01 AM
Newbie
 
mauser1891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Go with HDMI.
I currently use my HD 6250G HDMI out to my Vizio E442VA as my display.
Response time for the HDTV controller is the biggest issue, but getting better. Mine is 5ms.
I am currently at 1080p60, but can be switched to low as 1080p23.
VGA is superseded by DVI which is superseded by HDMI marginally.
I came here seeking wisdom about this topic also since I am coming from PC usage, and hoping the DisplayPort becomes incorporated eventually since it is not proprietary.
My Vizio will be truely tested when I connect this Vizio by HDMI to my CrossfireX Gigabyte 7770 GPU solution.
I have also been exploring a solution where I can go to a true 120Hz display, thus have (hopefully) more frames per second supported.
As stated above, I think I will be "locked" at 60fps depending on the HDTV controller since interpolation does get done on non-true 120Hz displays. Though they might be listed as 120Hz or even 240Hz. All remains to be seen, else tested.

biggrin.gif
mauser1891 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-05-2013, 02:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Yep - many 120/240Hz TVs still only accept source with refresh rates up to 60Hz, and interpolate or frame-repeat to get to 120/240Hz.

I think that 120Hz input support is more common on PC monitors with 120Hz refresh than it is with 120/240Hz HDTVs.

In particular PC monitors that support (often optional) 3D active-shuttered glasses are likely to support high refresh rate inputs, as that is how they support 3D (the display runs at 120Hz with the glasses shuttering this to 60Hz alternate-eye display)
sneals2000 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-05-2013, 12:27 PM
Newbie
 
mauser1891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Nah, back in the day they used one blue lens and the other red.
They do this now simply with polarization. One a vertical, the other horizontal.
Atleast that is my impression by a simple look at the glasses in theory.
But I have no interest in 3D at this point in time.

smile.gif
mauser1891 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-05-2013, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauser1891 View Post

Hello,

Nah, back in the day they used one blue lens and the other red.
They do this now simply with polarization. One a vertical, the other horizontal.
Atleast that is my impression by a simple look at the glasses in theory.
But I have no interest in 3D at this point in time.

smile.gif

In PC systems the normal solution is active glasses - where each eye has an LCD shutter, and they alternately open and close in sync with the monitor (so the left eye is blanked whilst the monitor is showing the image for the right eye and vice versa) For this to work without terrible flicker the monitor must run at 120Hz refresh in sync with the LCD glasses - giving each eye a 60Hz signal.

However, if you don't use the 3D functionality - you end up with 120Hz frame rate video.

(HDTVs can also use this system - described as active - or can use the polarisation system, where alternate lines are polarised differently, and vertical resolution drops but you can run at 60Hz refresh - as both eyes see the same 'refresh' frame, but only see alternate lines of each frame.)
sneals2000 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-05-2013, 10:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lacquerYuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got my new HDMI/DVI cable. HDMI wins. the picture is clearer and better colors. With VGA there was a periodic horizontal line across the image that i thought was the video card on my PC but turns out to be the VGA cable. Surprisingly my TV accepted the HDMI input directly from my PC at 60Hz.
mauser1891 likes this.
lacquerYuden is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-06-2013, 01:12 AM
Newbie
 
mauser1891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello lacquerYuden,


Pleased to hear that it worked out.

For me. I am waiting for DisplayPort to become standard.
I run a couple games, run a couple of VM's, and do some transcoding.
But thank you for sharing, but I have no interest in 3D at this point in time.
EOL

wink.gif
mauser1891 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off