Sharing cable company coax into house with OTA antenna feed: diplexer? (nope. shared freqs) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-07-2013, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
msa6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think this is a pretty basic question, but I don't want to mess things up!

We have cable/telephone/data from Comcast, and want to cancel the cable service. I'd like to put up an off air antenna to get some OTA signals, and am wondering about combining the coax coming off the antenna with the cable company coax coming into the house. I'd then like to split the signal in the house and send the antenna signal upstairs to the TV and the Comcast signal to their box, which we would continue to use for telephone and data.

Is this a standard application for what I think are diplexers, one outside the house where the two coax signals would be joined together, and one inside the house where I split them again? If so, are there different types of these things that I'd need to get? Feel free to post a link, by the way.

As I said, I think this is a pretty simple question, but with the telephone and data service at issue here, I don't want to mess it up. Thanks.
msa6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-07-2013, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Nope, can't do it.

Keep the cableco signals on a completely separate coax run from your OTA signals.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-07-2013, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
++1 CATV and OTA share many of the frequencies.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-07-2013, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 89
If you cancelled Comcast altogether you could use the same pre-existing cable already in place, although you would have to examine amplifier and splitter issues. But you cannot combine cable and OTA antenna signals as they interfere with each other. So you will have to run new cable for an antenna, and possibly add a preamp.
tylerSC is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-09-2013, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just curious what is the difference in price of having internet and phone versus internet phone and the most basic cable ?
RCbridge is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off