Compoenent adapters for HDTV input, wich cables? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-14-2013, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently got a Samsung HDTV with 1 component input, but I have 2 compoenent devices. I would lke to keep them in separate channels. The compoenent input on the HDTV is actually a adpater, not even real inputs..christ...

Anyways, is there a adapter for compoenent (both video and sound) to HDMI? or perhaps to the DVI/VGA plus sound? Will I have quality loss?

The HDTV model is UN32D5000 (same as UE32D5000)
LeandrodaFL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-15-2013, 03:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yes, they make converters:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011406&p_id=5971&seq=1&format=2

Or for a little cheaper, you can get a component switcher:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011007&p_id=3027&seq=1&format=2#description

You should not have any quality issues.


What devices are you hooking up to your tv?
mikepier is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-15-2013, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepier View Post



What devices are you hooking up to your tv?

I dont want to get switchers and I just realized HDMI inputs will not be availalbe. A 2nd Componennt would be to connect a PS2, I will give a summary below, but what I need is the following:

I need a Component to VGA converter and a Stereo sound to P45 converter. How much quality will I lose on this?

Below are pics of the inputs and the setup I plan to create, as you can see I have 4x HDMI, 1x Component, 1x VGA/PC sound:





HDMI: TV signal, X360, PS3, Blu-ray player
Component: Nintendo Wii
VGA: PS2

I have already found a VGA to component converter. But how will I get the sound? Is this what I want? I dont think this fits to the PC sound connector



Below is the VGA adapter:

CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), quality = 75

I am even considering getting a dedicatd speaker system, but how do I get the stero sound to conect to the speaker syste? Im sure such an adapter would also work for the HDTV
LeandrodaFL is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-15-2013, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
That component to vga wont work. A simple cable will not work, since you are converting an analog signal to a digital one. You would need a converter like this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011407&p_id=7113&seq=1&format=2

Yes, you will lose some quality.

As for sound, that converter will give you a 3.5mm output, or just get a 2 female rca to 3.5mm male adapter.

If you want to get a stereo system, that's a whole different game.
sitlet is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-15-2013, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post

That component to vga wont work.

As for sound, that converter will give you a 3.5mm output, or just get a 2 female rca to 3.5mm male adapter. .

Out of curiosity, will this work for sound? RCA ouput to mini stereo on HDTV?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002EQVMA/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

BTW, I've seen some revies on Amazon from people saying that the VGA cable does in fact work, and they were able to conect a Wi and a PS2 on a VGA HDTV, but it depends if the HDTV is able to understand the signal, so it may work as it may not, I want to try that before thikning about a converter. For $100, I rather get a small TV with component inputs.
LeandrodaFL is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-15-2013, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. usa
Posts: 1,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 270
You can buy this one that works just as well and only cost $2.82
I have one on one of my TV's works fine or you can overpay for the monster Y brand connector .
Vga and composite are both analog so it might work . try This
or this
or maybe this or even maybe this lots of choices
Vga and component video are analog as is composite video and DVI is of course digital

The Soviet people feared the KGB was watching them through their TV's ........or listening to them through their radios, so they kept them turned off often when they wanted privacy .

Now the NSA/ DHS are in fact watching us with our computers cell phones surveillance cameras drones,satellites etc !
...
tubetwister is online now  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-16-2013, 04:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If you are considering getting a sound system, then you might want to consider a home theater system that has at least 2 component inputs, as well as 4 HDMI inputs. This would solve your problems with the inputs and the sound.
mikepier is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-16-2013, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I supose for that price too, I rather get a 2nd monitor for the PS2 also. Im gonna ty the converter cable and prey it works
LeandrodaFL is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-16-2013, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post

You can buy this one that works just as well and only cost $2.82
I have one on one of my TV's works fine or you can overpay for the monster Y brand connector .
Vga and composite are both analog so it might work . try This
or this
or maybe this or even maybe this lots of choices
Vga and component video are analog as is composite video and DVI is of course digital

True, component is digital, but you cannot simply convert vga to component with a cable. Those vga to component cables are ONLY for certain PC video cards that actually output component video THROUGH the vga connector. They will not work with anything else.

And yes, again for the audio all you need is a 3.5mm to rca cable.
sitlet is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-16-2013, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HAhhaha, above I meant pray it will work....
LeandrodaFL is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 03-16-2013, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. usa
Posts: 1,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post

True, component is digital, but you cannot simply convert vga to component with a cable. Those vga to component cables are ONLY for certain PC video cards that actually output component video THROUGH the vga connector. They will not work with anything else.


And yes, again for the audio all you need is a 3.5mm to rca cable.

"True, component is digital," you meat analog right?

Now that you mention PC video card with component . I think I remember seeing something like that a while back .

I've never tried to convert VGA to component that's why I referenced the converter boxes as well not knowing if a simple cable would work.

Everything I have is now HDMI even my computers have it I've used PC VGA out to TV VGA i n also HDMI from PC to TV that's about it as to my TV-PC experience .
Only time I have used component is from DVD to TV never tried to get a computer to output component. anyway good luck to the O.P.

best regards .

The Soviet people feared the KGB was watching them through their TV's ........or listening to them through their radios, so they kept them turned off often when they wanted privacy .

Now the NSA/ DHS are in fact watching us with our computers cell phones surveillance cameras drones,satellites etc !
...
tubetwister is online now  
post #12 of 14 Old 03-17-2013, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post


Everything I have is now HDMI even my computers have it I've used PC VGA out to TV VGA i n also HDMI from PC to TV that's about it as to my TV-PC experience .
Only time I have used component is from DVD to TV never tried to get a computer to output component. anyway good luck to the O.P.

best regards .

Regarding this topic, the PC videocards already come with their own VGA to component or DVI to component adapters. At least, the high-end brands videocards I usually get.
LeandrodaFL is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 03-17-2013, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
True, component is digital,

No, it's not.
SAM64 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 03-18-2013, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
"True, component is digital," you meat analog right?

Damn, I swear I typed analog haha
sitlet is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off