Antenna help in Lawton, Oklahoma - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 04-25-2013, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi. I am just beginning the journey toward a cable/satellite (and bill) free and am looking into getting an antenna for reception. Here is my Fool TV report:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d1dda5d99e240d6

I am interested in getting the nearer network channels, mostly to my south/southwest, but also those in the Oklahoma City area some 82 to 85 miles to the northeast.

I'm assuming I need a roof mount antenna, but brands and specific models would be much appreciated. Plus any and all hints on installation.

Thanks much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-25-2013, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
To get the local networks close by, you would need a VHF/UHF combo such as the Antennacraft HBU-33.

I think Oklahoma City is too far away. If you even wanted to attempt it, you would need a huge VHF/UHF antenna pointing east mounted on a high mast, with probably a good amplifier.
post #3 of 6 Old 07-03-2013, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter

Liked: 11
I went with an Antennas Direct DB8 on a rooftop mount. It is more expensive than the DB4, but at $79 not that bad when you consider it will save me a lot of money over time. I am picking up the following channels:

KFDX (NBC)
KOCO (ABC)*
KAUZ (CBS)
KSWO (ABC)
KWTV (CBS)*
KETA (PBS)*
KJTL (FOX)
OETA (PBS)*
KERA (PBS)

*These channels are in Oklahoma City, 82+ miles away. KERA is in Dallas, some 160 miles away. Have no idea how that happened. There are a bunch of no-name channels I don't really care about, as well.

So, I'm pretty happy. But regionally, different stations on the same network carry different football games some times, so I would like to do even better with the OKC channels, particularly networks. Questions: