HD signal is gone? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 04-25-2013, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tis is really confusing and I'm a bit of a novice. I am no longer getting HD reception from difference devices. Here's my setup:

- fits HDTV cable box
- Samsung blu ray home theater
- Vizio HDTV
- Xbox 360

Fits comes in via coax, then out via HDMI to the blu ray. Blu ray goes out to Vizo TV via HDMI. Xbox comes into blue ray via HDMI.

First a few weeks ago I just stopped getting video. I could hear but no video signal. So assumed it was the blu ray and disconnected it. Now it's happening with fits cable. I get full picture and sound when I'm viewing nonHD channels. But as soon as I go to an HD channel I get video but no sound.
Ad my Xbox 360 works fine. But I think that's only 780 resolution or something.

I switched around my HDMI cables. Could they all be bad? Or could multiple devices be broken?

I just don't know where to start here.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-26-2013, 10:09 AM

Liked: 89
First, don't panic. The odds are pretty good that this is a single problem.

If I understand correctly, the Xbox 360 is working fine. 720p is indeed high definition (there is no such thing as a 780 HD standard).

To troubleshoot the rest, with the power off take the HDMI connector from the Blu-Ray to the Vizio directly. Do not connect the Samsung home theater device. Turn power back on and select the correct input on your Vizio. What does the TV say is the resolution? (it will usually be on screen for a few seconds). If that doesn't work, power off and then try the XBox 360 with the same cable direct to the Vizio. Power back on and select the correct input. Since the XBox 360 is working then you should be able to get a picture.

Let us know the results of the trouble-shooting. Also how long are the HDMI cables?