Troubleshooting help needed. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 04-30-2013, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
oldprowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am hooked up to CIMTEL (bundle - phone, internet, TV) using Motorola VIP 1200 Set Top Boxes. Recently I have had a problem with one of the STB - the power button has no effect (quick push or holding for 5-30 seconds). The LINK, HD, and RECORD lights light up as soon as the power connector is plugged in. It is obvious to me that the STB needs replaced BUT this is the second box in 4 days to go south.

We have had no storms or "near strikes" in the last 4 or 5 months.

I have 2 STBs both hardwired to the router. The other STB continues to work as it should.

The faulty STB is connected to a Vizio TV using HDMI cable. (well heck, both STBs are connected to Vizio TVs via HDMI).

All connections to electrical power are through APC backup power supplies/surge protectors.

My questions:
1. Does the 3 lights being lit indicate a particular failure?

2. Any ideas what may have cause the failure?

3. Is it possible for the TV to have had an HDMI failure that backfed to the STB ?

Thanks for your time and any assistance.
oldprowler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 05-03-2013, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I would first swap the boxes (Location) and see if the problem follows the swap.
RCbridge is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off