Combine Fios TV signal with UHF signal? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-09-2013, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
barth2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Is it possible to combine Verizon Fios TV signal with UHF signal so they can be run through a single cable and then split out at the TV's end? I know when I had Directv I could do this with a SAT/UHF/VHF combiner. Possible with Fios?

thanks
barth2k is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-09-2013, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
RollTide2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I may be wrong but I think that FIOS uses the same 5 MHz to 1 GHz bands that cable operators use, if that is the case then no It will not work.
RollTide2011 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-09-2013, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 62
It depends, first of all, on the specific frequencies your local FIOS service uses. If you don't know this technical detail, then do not screw with this idea.

Most likely, there will be overlap and it will not be feasible.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 05-09-2013, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 54
FIOS definitely uses the SAME TV Channels as Cable, including many of the SAME Cable boxes. If you try to combine weak OTA signals with very strong FIOS RF Coax Signals they will be squashed. AND, since you have connected an ANTENNA to the FIOS cable, even with 20-40 dB Reverse Isolation in an RF Combiner, the very strong FIOS RF signals are going to be splattered all over the radio waves, potentially interfering with OTA reception, and also AIRCRAFT flying overhead....until an FCC Strike Team beats down your front door...
holl_ands is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-10-2013, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
barth2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I'm going to take that as a no smile.gif
barth2k is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-16-2013, 01:17 PM
Member
 
4Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Santa Clara, CA. USA
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am doing something like that with Comcast ClearQAM and UHF channels off the air. I have a dual channel digital tuner off each source then have a PC running DVBlogic DVBLink server combing those two sets of sources into a single "source". I can then send any of those channels over the local network to any device for viewing. If you had smart/DLNA TVs, you could view directly or you would need a small box to connect to the network and send to the TV.

I just got things crudely set up in the last couple of weeks and it does seem to work. Still have a fair bit of work to do to get all the channels combined to eliminate the duplicates and get the program guide information correct. But it was nice to see full 1080i video streaming around the house over the network cable without any delay, and this with an 8yr. old PC as a server, pulling a signal off an HD HomeRun network tuner and sending it back over the same network to another PC.

So I am combining two different signal sources and sending the combined signal to a TV over a cable, just that the cable is ethernet (or WiFi) and not RG-6.
4Crawler is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-03-2013, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
 
javi404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
4crawler do you have a link to more detail on your setup?
javi404 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-03-2013, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 44
So what 4crawler is doing is not merging the two feeds (Cable and OTA/UHF) but instead has dual PC tuners on both feeds, which are then serving the 4 received services over IP networks to distributed PC (and other DLNA devices) around the house?

Loads of us in Europe do this with our OTA, Cable and Satellite feeds (DVB-T/T2, DVB-C and DVB-S/S2 respectively) - and DVB Logic's Tuner Virtualisation stuff (TV Source) is great for this (with excellent Windows Media Center integration)
sneals2000 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-03-2013, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
javi404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I would need a windows PC and a tuner card per source? Or can one PC have multiple tuners?
javi404 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off