Help connect samasung un55es6500 to onkyo tx-sr602 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 05-19-2013, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an older prewired set up with two rca plugs at each end of the cable. One pair is connected to the receiver, the other set does not have a place on the new tv. The receiver does not have hdmi, so how can I connect the rca plugs to the tv in order to get surround sound working? It worked fine with older mitsubishi tv, which had multiple rca plugs.

I am a novice and looking to make something work without having to purchase new receiver.

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 05-19-2013, 08:55 PM

Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Optical audio out from TV to reciever. Will at least give you l/r audio but may give you more.
post #3 of 5 Old 05-20-2013, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter

Ok, I see a "digital audio out (optical)" slot on the back of the tv. As I said before, I'm a novice, so two rca plugs don't look like they will fit in this slot. Is there an adapter or converter that I need to plug in to the tv and that would then allow the two rca ends to plug into the adaptor? Thanks again for your help.
post #4 of 5 Old 05-20-2013, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You need an optical cable. The back of your Onkyo should also have an optical input, which you probably have to assign in the menu options, which is easy to do.

Your old set-up was basically analog. This is totally different, it is pure digital, which will sound a lot better watching shows or movies in 5.1 surround.