Trying to get started with OTA in new construction - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 27 Old 07-17-2013, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I browsed around the forum looking for this infomation, but I was unable to narrow it down enough to get clear answers. I apologize if some or all of this has been answered before.

I'm building a new house and I'd like to get rid of Comcast cable and replace the local channels by using an OTA antenna. Unfortunately, I'm new to this so I'm not sure which antenna will be sufficient for picking up the local stations. From what I've gathered so far it seems like an indoor antenna like a channel master would work, but I'd like to get confirmation. I've included my tvfool results below.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d46ae1a9e0362a6

I'd like to have 4 tv's take advantage of the OTA antenna so I assume I'll need a splitter. Any suggestions on what to go with?

I'd also like to be able to take advantage of some sort of DVR capability, would you guys suggest a channel master CM-7400?

Is there a particular brand of coax cable I should buy to make sure I get the best quality signal?

I'm sure there are many things I'm unaware of that need to be factored into the equation so please feel free to offer advice and suggestions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 07-17-2013, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Your tvfool report only shows a report for your general area. If you enter your exact address, it will be more accurate ( your address will not be shown in the report). Also enter a height at which you think the antenna might be at.

Judging at first glance, it looks as if you should get at least CBS,NBC,FOX, ABC with no issues.
PBS is 90 degrees away from the big 4, but if you split the difference between the 2, and point the antenna south, you should pick up the stations with no problems.