Which tuner/cable box? Please help! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 08-14-2013, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I would appreciate it if you could read this and help me out, for I am not an expert in cable-TV and this seemed like a place to find people who are.

I am a college student whose college provides an unencrypted cable service with HD channels. The college expects students to bring in TVs with built-in converters (HD-ready).

I am looking to use an HD projector that does not have a built in converter. I would use a standard tuner/cable box, but the only problem is that there is an Over the Air broadcasting station very close to campus, so tuners with OTA enabled may have interference.

Is there such thing as an HD tuner/cable box that is not compatible with OTA, such as converters that are inside some HD-ready TVs?

I basically need something that has a cable-in, can handle a decent number of channels, has decent sound, and has an HDMI-out or the other standard hd wire system (sorry for the lack of knowledge, I am talking about "Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr").

Thank you for your advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 08-14-2013, 01:36 PM

Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 39
TiVO will probably be the easiest solution. you could get an older model from a pawn shop i dont think you would necessarly need the subscription service to do what you are talking about.
post #3 of 16 Old 08-14-2013, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Can you provide a link to your college webpag that explains the required technical characteristics of the "HD Capable" Tuner? They either mean a DTV with an OTA ATSC format tuner, which ALL DTVs support.....or possibly they mean a DTV which also has a Clear QAM Cable Tuner, which is supported by a much smaller number of DTVs.