Connections for satellite/blu-ray/HDTV to analog stereo - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2013, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
junebuggnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TV = Sony Bravia KDL-40BX450
HD DVR = DirecTV HR 21-200
Blu-Ray = Sony BDP-S3100
Stereo Amplifier = TA-AV531. Link to manual http://www.docs.sony.com/release/TAAV531.PDF

So, I have an old Sony component stereo system which only has the red/yellow RCA "video in" port. Currently, I'm using the red/yellow RCA cables to connect my HD DVR to my stereo for surround sound (I know there are different definitions but when I say surround sound I mean the audio for watching TV is coming through my stereo speakers only).

I recently got a blu-ray player and I want to add it into my current setup so any movies I watch will be in surround sound too...but I'm not sure how to do this. I think I may need a digital to analog converter. I've searched the Internet and found that there are several types. Most of which work for only one component...I need one for both the HD DVR and for the blu-ray, since I only have one "video in" port on the amplifier?

How would the connections work? That I haven't been able to find.

I've very much a novice with HDMI connections and would appreciate any education and hopefully a solution to my quandary...

Thanks!
junebuggnc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2013, 02:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,662
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Yellow is video
Red and White is audio


Use the "CD IN" for the Bluray player
Ratman is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
junebuggnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My CD player is occupying the "CD in" port.
junebuggnc is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,757
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 69
You can also use VIDEO IN or TAPE IN.....but NOT PHONO, cuz it's for much lower level signals.

If all inputs are occupied, you could try using one of the inputs on the Tape Deck as a PASS-THRU (if that's an option)....or get an external Input Switch, which come in inexpensive Manual and more expensive Automatic and Remote Controlled versions.....

Or perhaps it's time to upgrade to a TRUE 5.1 or 7.1 AVR, which supports MULTIPLE HDMI and Optical inputs for future growth....and will provide REAL DISCRETE CHANNEL SURROUND SOUND....rather than the synthesized "fake" surround your current Stereo Amp provides.
holl_ands is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
junebuggnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HD DVR is currently in the "video in" port using the red/yellow RCA cable. I may consider using the "tape in" ports but in all honesty, the back of my stereo is not easily accessible. That's why I was hoping for some sort of converter that I could plug the HD DVR and blu-ray player (using the optical/digital coax/HDMI ports) into and then the red/yellow RCA would run from the converter to the stereo. So I would only have to unplug the red/yellow RCA cables from the HD DVR and plug them into the converter without having to gain access to the back of my stereo.

Can you provide some models of the external switch?

Was hoping to continue using my existing system until I have to replace it.

Thanks!
junebuggnc is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 05:40 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
If you use the Phono port, you have to purchase a Phono to Line Converter like this http://www.specialistelectronics.com/products/Monacor-LPC%252d1-Line-Phono-Converter-21.0600.html Personally I would just use that for out in the garage and shop around for a decent AVRS for use for a home theater. Kind of limited, but good basic system for a workshop or garage system.
gregzoll is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 08:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,662
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Or... eliminate the CD player altogether. Use the Bluray player as a CD player. wink.gif
Ratman is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
junebuggnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK!!!!

I'll try that connection this evening. I'll post how it went.

Thanks
junebuggnc is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off