25' HDMI Cable - Potential Signal Loss? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 08-29-2013, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PogueSquadron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Hi all,
I'm moving out at the end of September into a new apartment. The way the living room is set up, I'll be dividing it into half traditional living room, and half home office. Since I have my computer and TV in the same room, what I'd like to do is stretch an HDMI cable along the wall to the new TV.

The room is 18' long, so I was thinking that a 25' cable would probably suffice. However, I was told that 25' might be a bit too long, and could warrant the use of a signal amplifier.

Is this true, or will I just want to avoid anything too cheap? I watched a clip from HD Nation saying that 25-30 feet shouldn't really be a problem, but I thought I'd ask some fellow geeks about it.

Thanks!
PogueSquadron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 08-29-2013, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 367
It depends: on the quality of the cable (it needs to use thick wires), the strength of the signal driving it, and the sensitivity of the receiver chip in the display.

Many people have found long Redmere cables from Monoprice to work quite well. They have amps & equalizers built into their connectors and are reasonably priced. Because of the amps, they use thinner wires and thus their cables are more flexible.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 08-29-2013, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 239
I use Redmere HDMI cables and even though I don't run them at 25' lengths, they work perfect and the small size and flexibility is a definite bonus.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #4 of 11 Old 08-30-2013, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Any 25' certified high speed passive cable should work just fine.
Colm is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 08-30-2013, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PogueSquadron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Thanks everyone. I'm going to order a 30" Redmere cable in anticipation of the big move next month! Very excited. Now to just get some coverings to go over the cable against the wall...
PogueSquadron is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-30-2013, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 239
You'll be surprised at how thin the Redmere cables are.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-05-2013, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PogueSquadron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
So, I see that the two Redmere cables (Slim and Ultra Slim) are identical except that the Ultra Slim cables are in wall rated and have a smaller connector head.

The helpful person in the Monoprice chat said that the difference is basically down to preference. Is there really no advantage or disadvantage? I'd think I'd want to get the one with the smaller connector head in the event that I'm ever in a situation where I CAN run the cable through the wall (but for now it is not needed).

Edit: I'm thinking of going a different route. While the Redmere cables have great reviews, there are a lot of good reviews of cheaper cables on Amazon. I'm thinking of going with this instead, which is only $13.99. I don't need to fish the cable through the wall, so I don't need anything ultra slim. Do you think this will suffice? I'm not doing 3D or anything fancy. Just straight HDMI from my PC at one end of the room to the TV at the other end. Thanks in advance!

http://www.amazon.com/Aurum-High-Speed-Cable-Ethernet/dp/B004JKH4FQ/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top
PogueSquadron is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-05-2013, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 239
That's totally up to you. The price is good (I wouldn't worry about the ethernet part because there aren't any components that can take advantage of that) but I don't recognize the company so caveat emptor. You can always return them if they don't work but personally, I'd go with Monoprice, BlueJeans, MediaBridge than Aurum.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 09-05-2013, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PogueSquadron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Yeah I decided to pay extra and just get the Monoprice cables. I know people say a cable is a cable but I like Monoprice and their customer service and I feel more comfortable buying from them. Can't wait!
PogueSquadron is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 09-06-2013, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Don't forget that RedMere cables are not just cables. They have built-in HDMI electronics which compensate for the attenuation and dispersion present in long cable runs and thin wires. The cheap cables don't.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 09-06-2013, 03:40 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
The bottom line to all this is for any length cable, make sure it is a certified High Speed cable. That's all you really have to do.

The Redmeres are certified High Speed and Monoprice has 25' High Speed passive cables as well (although much thicker).

Be careful of cables that claim High Speed but really haven't been certified. Some of the worst are cables that were certified for High Speed at 6' but then the company claims that a 25' version would also be certified as High Speed, without actually doing any testing. So, if possible get the cable from a reputable place and brand. Ask for the certification if in doubt and check for the length in the certification.
alk3997 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off