What should my cable box resolution out be set to - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-08-2013, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
hmunster2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hello, I have a Motorola (comcast) box and in its menu you can select the resolution the box outputs.
At first I thought it should be set at native, but this causes about a 5 second delay when changing channels, during which the screen goes black (in either 720 or 1080i the current channels remains on for those 5 seconds and then switches). What should I set the output to-720p or 1080i or native? I believe it was originally set by the cable tech at )720p.
Thanks
hmunster2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-08-2013, 09:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,302
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Either 720p or 1080i. Try each one and use what looks best on your TV.

If your TV has a native resolution of 720p, that may be why the cable set it that way.

In order to avoid a delay when changing channels, do not use native.
Ratman is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-08-2013, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I would set it to whatever is closest to my display. - ie. - if you have a 720p class display - use that - or if you have a 1080i class display - use that. But in all honesty - it's not really going to matter that much. either the display or your cable box will adapt.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off