Reception - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-08-2013, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ron815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In my livingroom, I have a leaf antenna connected to a converter box. I get the Retro channel very well. In the bedroom, I have a leaf antenna conncted to my Tivo. I can't get the Retro channel at all. I ran a 20 ft. cable from my Tivo to the livingroom and used a splitter where I connected the leaf antenna in the same spot as my livingroom antenna. I still can't pick up that Retro channel. Would an antenna booster help? Any suggestions would help. Thanks.
ron815 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-08-2013, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
See: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1409080/note-put-a-location-in-the-title-of-all-antenna-threads-tvfool-info-in-1st-post/0_100
ctdish is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-09-2013, 12:29 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Yeah, we're gong to need more information. Lots.

You have way too many variables going on. Could have multipath in the bedroom but not in the living room. Could be that the converter box has more sensitivity (Lord knows my converter boxes pull in about ten channels my TVs don't). Could be that the signal in the living room is JUST weak enough that putting a splitter in the line knocks it down below what the TiVo considers acceptable.

Move the TiVo into the living room. Disconnect the antenna from the converter and connect it into the TiVo. If that doesn't work, then the signal's too weak or the multipath is too high for the TiVo to work with.

But before we venture further, need that location, TV Fool report, Make and model of the converter box... are you ground floor? What type of structure? What channel is Retro on? Probably a subchannel, but of which station?

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 09-09-2013, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 88
The TiVo Premiere tuner is not as sensitive as some converter boxes and other TV tuners. It has issues with multipath and error correction. And electrical noise. That could be part of the problem.
tylerSC is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 09-10-2013, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ron815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really just wanted to know how good antenna boosters are. Radio Shack said to try one. Really not that important, but thought about buying a cheap one. Thanks for all the responses.
ron815 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 09-10-2013, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Amps can help in some situations. But choose Channel Master, Winegard, or even RCA rather than RadioShack. Better quality can make a difference.
tylerSC is online now  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-13-2013, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ron815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought a GE booster yesterday at Walmart. Can get the channels that I couldn't get before. Thanks for the suggestions.
ron815 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-15-2013, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tvrgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bowie, MD.
Posts: 2,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
A booster will not help the QUALITY of your reception. Nothing is a substitute for a decent antenna pointed in the correct direction without obstructions. Amplified antennas are nothing but a poor antenna with a booster. If you need higher antenna gain, well you need higher ANTENNA gain. Channel Master are about the best.
tvrgeek is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 09-16-2013, 03:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Actually, the amplifier CAN improve the quality of reception although it can not affect the quality of the signal. This effect is particularly noticeable with indoor antennas and with antennas in otherwise weak signal areas. For signals that are just on the edge of usefulness due to signal power that's at or just below the threshold of usability at the tuner, adding a good amp will do three things - replace the noise figure of the tuner with the generally quieter noise figure of the amp, boost the signal to noise ratio, and bring the power levels of the signal up to overcome other losses in the input.

It's been years since Channelmaster's stuff was particularly good. Now, they're just another Chinese-made supplier of mediocre stuff.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 09-16-2013, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 88
The newer Chinese made antennas that Channel Master sells are not as good as their original American made products, for the most part. But their distribution amps made by PCT get good reviews.
tylerSC is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 09-17-2013, 10:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ron815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All the channels I get are great quality and the booster got me the channels I was looking for so I'm satisfied.
ron815 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off