Please Help!! I cant connect my indoor antenna to my new LG tv - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2013, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
foxdie344's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI Guys,

I bought a brand new LG 3D television from dubai and bought it with me to Toronto. Recently I purchased a Terk HDTVa indoor antenna for my apartment and tried to connect it to my television. But unfortunately , the coaxial cable from my antenna has a bigger outer cap than my TV input. It does not fit into the input thus preventing a connection. Please check the pics below and advise if i could get an adapter of some sort, or where can i go in toronto to change the outer cap of the antenna, so that i can finally watch OTA cable!!




foxdie344 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2013, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 73
You have a European-Asian region TV set if you bought it in Dubai. It probably won't do you any good in North America for use with an antenna since it's likely to have a DVB tuner, not an ATSC tuner. Different and incompatible broadcast standards.

Before wasting more time looking for an adapter for the coax input, you'd do best to look up the specifications of the TV set to see what tuner is installed. If it does not have an ATSC tuner, you'll be limited to HDMI or component inputs, most likely.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
Old 09-14-2013, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 68
That's the standard connector for PAL/DVB-T broadcast standard, which means it does NOT have an ATSC Tuner:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TV_aerial_plug

You need an external ATSC OTA HD-STB or DVR (e.g. TiVo)...and maybe an external HDMI switch:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/179095/the-official-avs-hdtv-stb-synopsis
holl_ands is online now  
Old 09-14-2013, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,489
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post

That's the standard connector for PAL/DVB-T broadcast standard, which means it does NOT have an ATSC Tuner:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TV_aerial_plug

You need an external ATSC OTA HD-STB or DVR (e.g. TiVo)...and maybe an external HDMI switch:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/179095/the-official-avs-hdtv-stb-synopsis
Not necessarily. A lot of electronics are multi standard, requiring just 'flipping a switch' in a menu to change it. The menu to do it, however, may be hidden. I see you were kind enough to provide the brand (LG) but the model number would probably be useful too.
olyteddy is online now  
Old 09-14-2013, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
foxdie344's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi ProjectSH,

It is an LG 42LM3400 Tv with a built in ATSC Tuner (confirmed). Please advise what type of adapter I would have to buy and where would i be able to get it in toronto?
foxdie344 is offline  
Old 09-14-2013, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 73
If it had an ATSC tuner, it should have an F-connector. Since it doesn't have an F-connector, it's not an ATSC out of the box.

Pull out the manual that came with the TV and look at the specifications page. Do NOT look up the manual on LG's US website, you probably need to use the site for the AE.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
Old 09-14-2013, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I was surprised to see the same 42LM3400 model number being used for the ATSC Model on LG's US website and the DVB-T Model on "AE" (UAE) website. Search and download manual for the "AE" version, showing that the various models ONLY do DVB-T for digital TV (specs pg 36)....plus various PAL Analog TV versions:
http://www.lg.com/ae/support/software-manuals#

BTW: The various analog PAL versions shown in that table are decoded here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PAL

FYI: Just in case it's an ATSC set that has been modified with a Type-F connector, check the fol. list of features to make sure whether it is truly an ATSC or a DVB-T set inside:
1) SETTINGS/SETUP/AUTO-TUNING won't select North America countries in a DVB-T set,
2) SETTINGS/OPTION/COUNTRY won't select North America countries in a DVB-T set,
3) SETTINGS/AUDIO/DTV AUDIO SETTINGS in a DVB-T set will include HE-AAC & MPEG options NOT usually found on ATSC sets,
4) TEXT button pulls up TELETEXT control functions in a DVB-T set, not found on ATSC sets.

PS: The last time I checked, although there were "Multi System" TV's that did NTSC, PAL and DVB-T, there were NO models that did BOTH DVB-T and ATSC. Indeed the only ones that did both PAL and ATSC/NTSC were the small screen (19/22-in) iView International models:
http://www.world-import.com/tv.htm
http://www.world-import.com/iview-international-19inch-led-tv-with-region-free-dvd-player-combo.htm
http://www.world-import.com/iview-international-22inch-led-tv-with-region-free-dvd-player-combo.htm
http://www.avsforum.com/t/934779/atsc-hdtv-set-use-outside-atsc-areas/30
holl_ands is online now  
Old 05-25-2014, 11:03 PM
Newbie
 
maheraa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, any news with your TV?
Did you find any solution for that problem? Because I am too facing the same issue.
maheraa is offline  
Old 05-26-2014, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Check out Radio Shack......
I can't see which "sex" of connector it is in the photo, but one version is a #278-265B (PAL-female), to F-female jack adapter.
There should be a similar one for the PAL-male. Or, just buy one of each, and have the two for grins.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off