Outdoor VHF Hi and UHF Antenna 35 Miles, Parker, CO - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2013, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mogulman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I am in Parker, CO. 80134.

1 TV with built in tuner, and two Hauppauge 2250 dual tuner cards (4 tuners total). windows media center.
I currently am using an RCA ANT751 outside on the roof. All the stations I am interested in are at 309 degrees and approx. 35 miles away. Some are UHF and some VHF hi.

I care only about the green stations, 2.1, 4.1, 6.1 (KRMA), 7.1, 9.1, 12.1, 20.1, 31.1

The only thing between me and the transmitters are 2 aspen trees.

I noticed that recently the VHF stations have been coming in worse. Might be because of the bad weather here in CO lately. not sure.

Any way. looking for suggestions on a better antenna? or do I need to cut up those Aspens? if a better antenna would help I'm all for that but hopefully not huge. I wanted to mount something in the same location as my existing antenna.


http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d46aee36a123da7

Pict of my current antenna:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/102110975/P1000945.JPG
TV Fool Image:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/102110975/Radar-Digital.png
mogulman1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2013, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Height is a big factor. Even if you got another antenna, it might give the same results at the same height.
If you can mount the existing antenna higher , it could make a difference.
mikepier is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mogulman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepier View Post

Height is a big factor. Even if you got another antenna, it might give the same results at the same height.
If you can mount the existing antenna higher , it could make a difference.

Yeah..I can't really get up any higher.  It is on a lower part of my roof.  The upper part is too high for me, and would make the antenna stand-out in my neighborhood.  I am on top of a hill and from the antenna location I can actually see line of sight the mountains where the transmitters are, when the trees lose their leaves.

 

The weird thing is it used to work better.  Although still some drop minor dropouts, but mostly great.   I've been using it for about 3 years.  Reception got worse about a year ago.   Do antennas go bad?  or maybe the leaves on the trees got denser?

 

I have about 75' between the antenna and my TV Tuners.   I used to have it split to 3 cables about 25 feet from the antenna.   Then the 3 cables going to the 3 inputs (1 TV, and 2 dual tuner cards) for about 50 feet.   I tried changing this a little bit ago so that it is now split 25 feet from the antenna with one cable going to a TV, and the 2nd cable going to the HTPC with a splitter right by the home theater PC (so one cable for this piece, then split at the tuners, rather then split outside).   Didn't seem to make much of a difference.

 

I also tried an Amp at Radio shack.  Put the booster on the antenna.   Put the power piece down by the HTPC, but it made it much worse.   Would a splitter block the power injector part of the booster?  I ended up returning this.

mogulman1 is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spivonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Antennas don't go bad, but connections do come lose, and wires do deteriorate, especially when left out in the weather. Leaves would cause an issue too, but then you'd notice reception improving in the winter (assuming deciduous trees).
spivonious is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Would a splitter block the power injector part of the booster?
Yes, unless it is a special splitter designed to pass the DC power to the preamp.

I suspect the leaves. Can you make a temporary setup of your antenna so that it has line of sight to the transmitters?

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 06:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mogulman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the suggestions....

 

Weird thing is..the signal was poor again yesterday after the weather had cleared up.   I tried adjusting antenna direction....nothing.

 

So I check in my bedroom TV, because it didn't seem to have any issues, and found a way to see signal strength through the TV.   All channels were green (100% or almost 100%).

 

Check my splitter outside..tighten connections outside...check..

 

Then check behind the Den TV (HTPC with 4 tuners).   Move some of  the RG6 around and bingo... all green in WMC signal strength.   Narrowed it down to a couple of cables.  I replaced them and everything is all green.

I'll see if it holds up during the next storm, but seems to not end up being the tree or the weather or needing a new antenna.

mogulman1 is offline  
Old 09-30-2013, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
freetvEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sonuds like you got this fixed up, sorry to be late to the party... I live in Lakewood and have done lots of installs out in the Parker area so can tell you for sure that your Antenna should be just fine for that area. I even have the exact same setup as you so it makes sense that it is either trees or bad cable connections.
freetvEE is online now  
Old 09-30-2013, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mogulman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I did notice in the last storm Friday night, that it still cut out a bit, but not sure if there is anything I can do, or if a different antenna will make any difference.

mogulman1 is offline  
Old 09-30-2013, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
freetvEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogulman1 View Post

I did notice in the last storm Friday night, that it still cut out a bit, but not sure if there is anything I can do, or if a different antenna will make any difference.

If it cut out just on 7.1 and not 9.1 you might want to make sure WMC is pulling from the correct tower-7.1 versus 17.1. This has also been an issue with WMC... Right click channel-edit sources and get rid of 17.1 keep only 7.1
freetvEE is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off