Finding good ground on the roof of a new home - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-28-2013, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
josephforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi All,

I just purchased and RCA ANT751 outdoor antenna.  I am trying to find a good ground on the roof but seem to be stuck.

 

To start of, my backyard is 80% cemented so can't drive any rods into the ground.  The only metal I see on the roof is a metal pipe that allows the power lines to come into the home. Could this metal pipe be a good ground?

Other metals are vents from the water heater. 

 

If none of the above I mentioned are good for ground then where can connect to ground?

 

Thanks in advance,

Joseph

josephforum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-28-2013, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 65
How old is the building?

Where is the electric service meter? The meter base is always grounded and you should be able to access the the GES there or very close by.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-28-2013, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
NEC allows bonding to the metallic power service raceway (the metal pipe the power lines in in through). Use an approved grounding clamp.

Colm is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-28-2013, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
josephforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

@ProjectSHO89:Thanks for the reply. The home was built in 2005.  I have a two story home. The electric meter is on the south side of the home close to the first floor. This would be about 40 ft away.

thanks,

Joseph

josephforum is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-28-2013, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Okay the IBT wasn't required until the 2008 code cycle, so an 05 construction probably doesn't have it.

Yes, if the power mast is metal, then it is one of the approved connections.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off