will Displayport to HDMI converter pass full HDMI resolution? nothing lost? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 10-11-2013, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rockstead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't really do HTPC, but at times I want to connect my PC to the HDMI port of my tv. I discovered i needed a Displayport to HDMI converter to do so, cheap enough.

Are those adapters all created equally?

Will it be able to pass the full HDMI resolution across with the whole conversion from Displayport to HDMi going on without losing anything in between?

Thanks.
Rockstead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 10-11-2013, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockstead View Post

I don't really do HTPC, but at times I want to connect my PC to the HDMI port of my tv. I discovered i needed a Displayport to HDMI converter to do so, cheap enough.

Are those adapters all created equally?

Will it be able to pass the full HDMI resolution across with the whole conversion from Displayport to HDMi going on without losing anything in between?

Thanks.

I believe so. AIUI Displayport can work in a number of modes. When it runs natively it uses its own standards for video, but when connected to a DVI or HDMI cable, it effectively switches into an entirely DVI/HDMI compatible mode - effectively becoming HDMI or DVI. The cables are very low-cost, so aren't actually doing any video processing or conversion.

There are situations where Displayport can carry content that HDMI displays may not be able to accept (Panasonic are using Displayport as a stopgap on their 4K displays before HDMI 2.0 is available to allow 4k/60p connections - circumventing the HDMI 1.4 limit of 4k/30p) However in the situation where you are feeding a regular HDTV - you should be fine.

I used to connect my Macbook Pro to an HDMI display using a MiniDisplayport to HDMI converter. No problems at all. No quality loss.
sneals2000 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 10-11-2013, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneals2000 View Post



I used to connect my Macbook Pro to an HDMI display using a MiniDisplayport to HDMI converter. No problems at all. No quality loss.

Same here. No problems or quality loss.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off