Coax to Hdmi - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > HDTV Technical > Coax to Hdmi

HDTV Technical

Majorone's Avatar Majorone
05:21 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 3
11-24-2013 | Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2013

I have an old 32" Vizio that has been connect to TWC cable box for years.  Now I want to move it to just a plane coax drop from TWC. When I connect the coax to the DTV port (plug and play) on the Vizio it goes blank.  I think I have a bad DTV port.  So, I am wondering if I can somehow take the coax drop and convert it to HDMI. I hope that the HDMI port is working.  Has anyone performed this task?  And if so, how did they do it.

 

Thank you,


Tulpa's Avatar Tulpa
06:00 PM Liked: 59
post #2 of 3
11-24-2013 | Posts: 10,026
Joined: Jan 2007
DTV port? You mean the coax screw in connectors?

First, did you run a scan? It would need to scan to see the clear QAM channels TWC might provide (not to mention any legacy analog channels if there are any.) It could be the coax works fine, it just hasn't scanned yet.

If you did scan and it is a bad port, you would need a QAM tuner to tune channels before converting to HDMI. The Samsung GX-SM530CF can tune that, in addition to having a cableCARD slot for any channels that may be encrypted (though this requires cableCARD rental from TWC, typically a couple of bucks per month.)
sitlet's Avatar sitlet
09:00 AM Liked: 19
post #3 of 3
11-25-2013 | Posts: 1,591
Joined: Jun 2007
What he said ^^
Quote:
So, I am wondering if I can somehow take the coax drop and convert it to HDMI.

That's basically the point of a cable box.
Reply HDTV Technical

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3