Collinsville, OK: Large directional with pre-amp antenna question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-26-2013, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
David Borg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have performed an TV fool analysis but I am not sure how to decipher the results (link below). I have also performed an AntennaWeb analysis which says I need a large-directional with pre-amp but I am not sure which one and I have read that it is better to get one without pre-amp first so I do not over drive anything that is close. 

 

Can someone recommend an antenna to get my search started? Do I really need to get the biggest/baddest or is that overkill?

 

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d46ae8f45f30251

 

Thank you,

 

David

David Borg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-26-2013, 09:14 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 217
It's going to depend on how many TVs you're driving and how long the coax is. Given your distance, I doubt that'd be an issue. I'd go with the large UHF/VHF-Hi combo pointed at Coweta. If you get signal issues, then you might consider shimmying up the pole and adding a pre-amp. I'm 10-15 miles from the Detroit transmitters and I have a 30db Blonder-Tongue pre-amp connected to my array (35-element UHF yagi and a separate VHF-Hi) feeding 6 tuners and it doesn't overload anything. No, I didn't need that much, but the primary purpose of the thing is pulling in signals from Toledo, Lansing and Flint.

But I digress.KOED, KTUL and KJRH transmit on VHF. Everyone else you'd probably care about is on UHF all coming from Coweta.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-26-2013, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
David Borg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

So would this be something that would be best served by separate VHF and UHF antenna? I am hoping to be able to place them in the attic. 

 

We will be driving 2 TVs with a maximum run of about 125'. 

 

I am thinking something along the lines of http://www.amazon.com/Winegard-HD7694P-High-Definition-Antenna/dp/B001DFTGR4/ref=sr_1_13?ie=UTF8&qid=1385524897&sr=8-13&keywords=uhf+yagi

 

This would be for single unit.

 

If separate I am thinking:

UHF - http://www.amazon.com/Antennas-Direct-91XG-Uni-Directional-Antenna/dp/B000LZ9EXI/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1385525658&sr=8-2&keywords=Antennas+Direct+C5 or http://www.amazon.com/Antennas-Direct-ClearStream4-HDTV-Antenna/dp/B001BRXW74/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1385525848&sr=8-1&keywords=clearstream+4

 

VHF - I cannot seem to locate a specific one for this. Any recommendations?

 

 

I really appreciate the help. 

David Borg is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Borg View Post


VHF - I cannot seem to locate a specific one for this. Any recommendations?


I really appreciate the help. 

Something like this, http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=y5-7-13&d=antennacraft-by-radioshack-y5-7-13-highband-broadband-vhf-yagi-tv-antenna-for-channels-7-13-(y5-7-13)&sku=716079000987 would be good for your channels 8 and 10. The antennas direct C5 would be more compact if space is an issue but I find it to be rather highly priced for what it is.
Mister B is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
David Borg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the recommendation. Size is not an issue so that should work well. I am assuming that I need something to combine the signals from both antennas. What should I look for?
David Borg is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 01:10 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 217
No, no no. You don't NEED two antennas. the combo you first linked to should do okay, but don't be afraid to add the pre-amp. I was just illustrating the fact that adding a pre-amp doesn't automatically result on "overdriving." Even so, it's a lot easier to put an attenuator in the line behind the tuner. You can remove it later far easier than go out in the winter and add a pre-amp.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
David Borg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Got it. Thank you for the clarification. 

 

I must say the suggestions and info is helpful. 

 

Have a happy Thanksgiving all.

David Borg is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 07:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
David Borg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

One last question.......

 

I am going to go with the single antenna and add the pre-amp. With that said, I am going to be splitting it to 3 rooms (decided to add 3rd tv). The run from the pre-amp to the power unit for it will be about 20 feet and the run from the power unit to the splitter will be 5-10'. The run from the splitter to each room will vary from 50'-100'. 

 

My question is....do I need to get a power distribution/powered splitter or would a passive 4-way splitter be sufficient? I am getting a little confused on all of the dB losses and such.

David Borg is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 08:17 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Start with passive and see how it goes. Given your distance and the relative lack of significant topography between you and Coweta, it should be plenty, storms notwithstanding.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-28-2013, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
My question is....do I need to get a power distribution/powered splitter or would a passive 4-way splitter be sufficient? I am getting a little confused on all of the dB losses and such.

Basically every time you split a signal you 1/2 the power which is equivalent to 3.0dB of loss...not much different than having a pipe of water being split, essentially 1/2 the amount of water pressure out of each split. Like the above poster recommended, I would start with a passive splitter (cheaper cost wise) and if the signals are not strong enough at the TV's then look at getting a decent amplifier. If you do go that route, personally I recommend the Channel Master amps.
bac522 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off