Anyone make a Clear QAM tuner with Component output? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-20-2014, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I have a spare HDTV from 2003. I want to connect it to my cable service in the spare bedroom but it does not contain a clear QAM tuner. Rather than spend a monthly fee for another cable box, I'ld rather just buy a tuner. Amazon has a couple models for decent price.

Here is the problem, all Clear QAM tuners I can find have only HDMI output. This TV pre-dates HDMI and needs to be connected via component port. Anyone know where I can get a Clear QAM tuner with component output?

Thanks.

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-20-2014, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think the channel master 7001 has component outputs. It has an ATSC and clear QAM tuner but I don't think it has a NTSC tuner if your cable company is still passing analog channels it would not work for the analog channels.
sooke likes this.
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-20-2014, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,778
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 84

The iView 3500 and Homeworx tuner/DVR both have HD component output and with a USB HDD can record events. They are ~$40 from places like Amazon. Note the Homeworx requires a special firmware to tune QAM and both are only clear QAM(no CC) both are also kind of "iffy" in regards to QAM(neither have a analog tuner) so be aware of that.

Check out both models in their own threads in the HDTV Recorders forum on AVS:

http://www.avsforum.com/f/42/hdtv-recorders

I only use mine OTA and it seems to me lots of people have issues with QAM but most issues are probably due to the fact that the tuner gets it time from PSIP(no manual time set) and some cable systems don't send out PSIP information. If you only used it for a tuner and not DVR you probably won't have those issues.

sooke likes this.
jjeff is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-21-2014, 05:15 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks for the tips, guys. I'll check those out.
smile.gif

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off