DC area: antenna and amplifiers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2014, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
waldensghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi all,

 

I hope this is the right thread for this. Kind of a newb to over the air stuff.

 

Anyways - I just moved into a house about a week ago from an apartment. I picked up an RCA indoor antenna/amplifier (http://www.amazon.com/RCA-ANT1650F-ANT1650R-Digital-Amplified/dp/B0027FGW3K) so we could pick up local channels and watch the Olympics.

 

At first, it worked OK. The channel I needed would come in and out, and it was kind of annoying. I'm in the DC suburbs in Maryland and I could pick up about 20 channels. I noticed while out in my yard that there appears to be an old TV antenna on the roof. I'm not sure what type it is. I think it's multidirectional. It's one of those deals that looks like metal pipes with smaller pipes coming off of it (great description, I know). I've seen them on people's roofs since I was a kid. I imagine this one is kind of old.

 

So, I noticed a coax coming down the side of my house leading up to the roof antenna. I routed that around the side of the house to the room with my TV in it. I hooked a coax from the wall (and therefore from the roof antenna) to the amplifier that came with my indoor RCA antenna and plugged the amplifier up to my TV. I did a scan, and WOW! It found closer to 40 channels, all the HD ones included, and the signal strength is unwavering. Much better!

 

My question is - is it safe to leave that amplifier plugged up to that roof antenna? Is it simply amplifying the signals coming from the antenna? Is there some weird fire hazard here I should know about? I love the added signal strength, it's amazing. I'd love to keep it hooked up this way, but I want to make sure I'm not doing something wrong.

 

Thanks!

waldensghost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2014, 10:11 AM
Member
 
pamajestic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gettysburg, PA
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You are fine. Your amplifier is a distribution amplifier and can be used with any antenna. I love stories like this. Congratulations on your easy free TV channels.
pamajestic is online now  
Old 02-16-2014, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 100
That RCA inline amplifier will work fine with any antenna. It is designed with a low noise figure and is sold individually at Walmart for $15. And that outside antenna will give you much stronger reception. You may even get Baltimore as well as DC. So you should be safe and good to go.
tylerSC is online now  
Old 02-16-2014, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phil17108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldensghost View Post

Hi all,

I hope this is the right thread for this. Kind of a newb to over the air stuff.

Anyways - I just moved into a house about a week ago from an apartment. I picked up an RCA indoor antenna/amplifier (http://www.amazon.com/RCA-ANT1650F-ANT1650R-Digital-Amplified/dp/B0027FGW3K) so we could pick up local channels and watch the Olympics.

At first, it worked OK. The channel I needed would come in and out, and it was kind of annoying. I'm in the DC suburbs in Maryland and I could pick up about 20 channels. I noticed while out in my yard that there appears to be an old TV antenna on the roof. I'm not sure what type it is. I think it's multidirectional. It's one of those deals that looks like metal pipes with smaller pipes coming off of it (great description, I know). I've seen them on people's roofs since I was a kid. I imagine this one is kind of old.

So, I noticed a coax coming down the side of my house leading up to the roof antenna. I routed that around the side of the house to the room with my TV in it. I hooked a coax from the wall (and therefore from the roof antenna) to the amplifier that came with my indoor RCA antenna and plugged the amplifier up to my TV. I did a scan, and WOW! It found closer to 40 channels, all the HD ones included, and the signal strength is unwavering. Much better!

My question is - is it safe to leave that amplifier plugged up to that roof antenna? Is it simply amplifying the signals coming from the antenna? Is there some weird fire hazard here I should know about? I love the added signal strength, it's amazing. I'd love to keep it hooked up this way, but I want to make sure I'm not doing something wrong.

Thanks!


Wont hurt anything, but I would put a ground block where the coax inters the house. There may be one from the location you moved it from, or there may be one up at the antenna. check the code for were you live.
Phil17108 is offline  
Old 02-16-2014, 11:10 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,832
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Please put a location in the TITLE of all antenna help threads and a TVFool link in the first post.

See the instructions at the top of the section and my edit. Thanks.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off