Antenna TV Signal Splitter Dillema - Ashburn, VA - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 05-11-2014, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello all,

I have a question regarding a curious phenomenon I recently noticed with my antenna HDTV.  First, my setup consists of an HDTV antenna running right into an 18dB amp, then a line out to a wall jack in the bedroom below the attic.  Outside the house, the line from that bedroom becomes the "in" to an 8-way splitter which then feeds all the other jacks in the house.  I have been running this setup for the last two years with no problem, any loss in the line is made up for by the amp.

Recently, the signal seems to have quit on all the televisions (and the laptop I use for a DVR) in the house.  I checked the line at each node in the system.  There is signal coming of the antenna.  There is amplified signal coming out of the amp.  There is signal going into the wall in the bedroom.  There is signal coming off that line outside the house.  The signal seems to be lost when it goes into the splitter.  Simple right, just replace the splitter?  Well, I tried that... twice.  No luck.  Whatever splitter I put on the end of the line appears to completely attenuate the signal.  I am a bit confused and would greatly appreciate whatever advice I could get.  Right now, I am getting no TV signal in the house even though as far as I can tell, there is signal coming off the antenna and through the line out to the splitter.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 05-11-2014, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 73
What you're describing is an impossible situation so there must be a error in troubleshooting. wink.gif

I'm a little confused by your description. You're saying you connected a TV to the cable that goes into the splitter and it works? If not, how did you determine that there is signal present at that point?