need device coax input to hdmi output - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-14-2014, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
2panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've cut the cord with cable and have been using an Apple TV for movies and netflix. I used to have Tivo and canceled. The location of where the Tivo was and where the TV is now makes running an antenna like a mohu leaf to the TV directly impossible. To get OTA channels I've hooked my Tivo back up without service and using that to take the coax signal and output the video to my TV via HDMI in the wall.

There has got to be a better and more clean solution to this (that won't kill me financially)

Do I have any other options?

Thank you!
2panther is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-14-2014, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 302
You mean a digital (ATSC) TV tuner ?
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=hdtv+tuner+box biggrin.gif


Or this might work,

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-CxvdA7ZC8VG/p_659CM7001/Channel-Master-CM-7001.html

OTOH maybe someone else has another good solution

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-14-2014, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Tivo back up without service and using that to take the coax signal and output the video to my TV via HDMI
What exactly are you trying to do?

Why can't you plug the coax directly into the TV, if it supports HDMI than I'm guessing that it's new enough to have an ATSC turner (OTA) built into it already, no need to use the Tivo, just need to rescan the channels once you have the coax plugged directly into the TV.
bac522 is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-14-2014, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by bac522 View Post

What exactly are you trying to do?

Why can't you plug the coax directly into the TV, if it supports HDMI than I'm guessing that it's new enough to have a ATSC turner (OTA) built into it already, no need to use the Tivo, just need to rescan the channels one you have the coax plugged directly into the TV.

I was thinking the same thing .................. sort of but I didn't pursue that line of thought ? ......................anyway you said it best !

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-14-2014, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Late to the party here but yeah, just connect the coax to the Ant/Cable coax input on the tv, set the tv to antenna (not cable) and scan for local stations. We're assuming that the coax is connected to an antenna and not his canceled cable (which shouldn't be providing any signal now).
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-15-2014, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
2panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mentioned in my initial post that due to the location of the TV and coax drop that I'm unable to connect the mohu leaf directly to the TV. Hopefully this picture helps illustrate what I mean. The wall is an outside wall, there are three HDMI cables run in the wall, it was drywalled over and then the builtin was put in place. Too late to run coax and the wife doesn't want to see any cables.

built_in.jpg 291k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg built_in.jpg (291.3 KB, 19 views)
2panther is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-15-2014, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 82

Then something like tubetwister linked in post #2 would work, or real cheap would be the iView 3500 (<$50) which is a tuner and can also record when you attach a USB HDD.

Oh if you want to spend a bit more then maybe something like the CM DVR+ would work. It is razor thin, dual tuner and again with a USB HDD can record.

Is it the size of the Tivo that you dont like?

jjeff is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-15-2014, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 228
The picture makes it crystal clear. I think jjeff's idea is a good one and probably your only viable option.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-15-2014, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
2panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is the size, using the TiVo without TiVo service is a headache and i dont want to pay a monthly service either.I will check out those suggestions out.

Thanks!
2panther is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-15-2014, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 302
maybe some of this stuff?biggrin.gif


Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off