no tv tuner , antenna options - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-19-2014, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
no tv tuner , antenna options

I bought an antenna , its in the mail , i have this TV NUVISION LUCIDIUM 47" DMC from 2008 ( the company quit business ). Just learned i have no tuner , no antenna input .

What options do i have to connect my antenna to this tv , please.

thank you
bsuciu2014 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-19-2014, 03:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Buy an external tuner?
Depending on where you live (North America, Japan, UK, France, Antarctica, etc.), the type of tuner will differ.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-19-2014, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I assume you're in the US in which case you'll need an ATSC digital tuner with HDMI and/or component output similar to this box http://www.mcmelectronics.com/produc...M7001-/30-2116
bac522 is online now  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-19-2014, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bac522 View Post
I assume you're in the US in which case you'll need an ATSC digital tuner with HDMI and/or component output similar to this box http://www.mcmelectronics.com/produc...M7001-/30-2116
thank you , I'm in US , is this one a good value / quality ? thank you
bsuciu2014 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-19-2014, 04:55 PM
Member
 
Phane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuciu2014 View Post
thank you , I'm in US , is this one a good value / quality ? thank you
You can get an iView 3500STBII for $32.50. If you don't need optical out for audio, then the iView is probably a better value. They both have HDMI and component outputs.
Phane is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-21-2014, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
Mbajner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought the Mediasonic Homeworx150 box
Works very well and has true HD reception not like those other STB,s that are just SD
Mbajner is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-21-2014, 07:35 PM
Member
 
Phane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mbajner View Post
Bought the Mediasonic Homeworx150 box
Works very well and has true HD reception not like those other STB,s that are just SD
The iView 3500STB is (essentially) a clone of the Homeworx 150. I'm pretty sure all the STB's mentioned in this thread output HD. At the very least, I know the iView can.
Phane is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-22-2014, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
Mbajner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phane View Post
The iView 3500STB is (essentially) a clone of the Homeworx 150. I'm pretty sure all the STB's mentioned in this thread output HD. At the very least, I know the iView can.
While the iView maybe a clone of the mediasonic homeworx150, I heard better things about the mediasonic unit and that is why I bought that one.
Also for the price (less than $40) for tone unit, it sure beats out the others costing well over $100
Either way a true HD reception unit is the way to go instead of those cheap RCA or Colby brand STB,s
Mbajner is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-22-2014, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mbajner View Post
Bought the Mediasonic Homeworx150 box
Works very well and has true HD reception not like those other STB,s that are just SD
Most of the early Digital tuners were only meant to give people with older analog TV's a way to receive HDTV on the SD Tube.

Glad you found one that works for you...the Channelmaster I listed was for reference only, plus CM tends to make decent stuff, personally I would have gone (and suggested) for the lower cost one too if I had know about it !
bac522 is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off