Flat screen and circuit sharing - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-27-2014, 05:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
axxel6307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Flat screen and circuit sharing

Hope this is the right category to post in.

I am wondering if it's safe to use extension cords with flat screen tvs?

Also, would it be ok for a tv to plug into an outlet that was also running a window air conditioner, or even on the same circuit for that matter? It's a standard two plug receptacle, with one plug having the air conditioner in it, and the other the flat screen. I know window ac units most likely cause voltage drops when the compressor kicks on and off, but I am far from an expert on this.

What do you think?

Thanks
axxel6307 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-27-2014, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,770
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1361 Post(s)
Liked: 854
I would not plug in a tv on the same circuit as an air conditioner. We've seen issues with tv's plugged into the same circuit as refrigerators and when the compressor comes on, there's interference.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-27-2014, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,631
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 523 Post(s)
Liked: 912
And when a high inductance thing like a motor or compressor turns OFF watch out for spIkes.

🔥🔥🔥 Sent from my Samsung Note 7 Using Ove Glove™ 🔥🔥🔥
olyteddy is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 07-27-2014, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by axxel6307 View Post
Hope this is the right category to post in.

I am wondering if it's safe to use extension cords with flat screen tvs?

Thanks
Extension cord is fine. If you have to plug it into the same circuit as the A/C use a surge protector on the TV.
bac522 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off